CS 373 Spring 2022 — Week 5

Akshay Sharma
2 min readFeb 20, 2022

--

What did you do this past week?

I worked on (and finally finished) my Computer Graphics project. I also met with my IDB group and we are currently fleshing out an idea to submit.

What’s in your way?

For once, I don’t think there’s too many things in my way. I think my project group will have everything ready for our project proposal soon. The only things I need to prepare for are a management test on Tuesday, and some homework assignments that are due next week. I also have a programming aptitude test for an internship at the end of this week, so I’m trying to prepare for that.

What will you do next week?

I plan to spend Sunday studying for my Management test. I also have to do a few readings for my Artificial Intelligence class, and a homework assignment for my Computer Graphics. Hopefully, everything will be done by Tuesday.

What did you think of Paper #5: Single Responsibility Principle?

I thought it was pretty interesting. The idea of each class having only one responsibility is pretty interesting, but I wonder if it really would decrease the amount of bugs in a project even if it were separated. The code would also be a lot more inconvenient to create on a large scale .I feel like it may even have the possibility to increase bugs since you’re separating data. I guess the only way to know is to try it!

What was your experience of types and recursion? (this question will vary, week to week)

Types are pretty interesting. I think I have a pretty good understanding of them now. As for recursion, the idea of linear recursive procedures and linear iterative procedures is interesting. It makes sense that programmers can try to minimize stack frame creation.

What made you happy this week?

I’m happy to be working on a new project in this class. I also am very happy I finally finished my ray tracing project for Computer Graphics. It was pretty tough, but it’s satisfying to see the visual differences in output as the project developed.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

If you ever need to do anything involving graphical interfaces from the UT CS servers, it’s actually pretty easy to set up X11 forwarding. My tip is to use PuTTY, since all it takes to set it up is ticking a checkbox and having Xming installed (for Windows, at least). I was avoiding it while doing a project because I had assumed it was hard to set up, but it took me less than 5 minutes!

--

--