LEE ZII JIA IS BACK

Akshayudupi
2 min readOct 22, 2023

--

Lee Zii Jia is on the verge of making personal history by having the chance to win consecutive HSBC BWF World Tour titles, a feat he is determined not to let slip away. He recently broke a 17-month title drought with a win at the Arctic Open. Despite a year marked by inconsistency and a drop in world ranking from second to 18th, Lee remains committed to securing these titles.

After his semifinal victory over Lee Cheuk Yiu at the VICTOR Denmark Open 2023, Lee expressed his determination, saying, “I went through so much, now I’m in two straight finals. This time, I won’t let it go easily. I had a bad start to the year, and experienced seven first-round exits, the worst performance of my career. My family and my team didn’t give up on me; they were always there to support me, even when I made mistakes. It’s part of the process, but I feel blessed to have them beside me. I hope this team will continue to grow stronger. I want to seize this chance, even though it’s a big challenge.”

Lee’s evolving mental resilience and a renewed focus are evident in his recent performances. He remains driven to achieve more success in the sport. Reflecting on his journey, Lee mentioned, “After I won in Finland, my team asked why I didn’t cry as it was a big breakthrough. But at that moment, I was only thinking about going out and winning again.” Lee acknowledges that he’s concentrating on his next victory and not dwelling on past achievements.

Lee is set to face Weng Hong Yang in the final for his first Super 750 title. He acknowledges the tough challenge that Weng poses, stating, “He’s a rising star and has had a fantastic year. He will be a tough opponent.” Weng had previously defeated senior compatriot Shi Yu Qi in straight games, ending his title defense. Weng holds a 2–1 advantage in their head-to-head matchups.

--

--

Akshayudupi
0 Followers

I will be giving badminton updates