Why We Should All Preach

& a call to open-mindedness

Ìbùkúnolúwa DÀDA
6 min readMar 31, 2024
Source: Statista

Recently, Afterlife has been on my mind. No. Dead that thought. But as an undergraduate in 2018, Agropresss published my thoughts on Pre-existence, Existence, and Afterlife which, aside from some errors, fits perfectly as Part 1 of this one. The previous year, I had had constant questions raised in my room by a set of atheists and freethinkers, and the zenith was when Akinleye Akintoye, a Christian and Law student on my floor, called for a symposium in his spick-and-span suite (room) with representatives from all religions that could be found.

The symposium gave me the thrill of meeting a proselyte Jew, and ruminating on thought-provoking questions that I might have felt as my neurons fired. I cannot remember the details of that night, but the action is what I am here to preach with the hope of making you proselytes(preachers) of men. This leads me to a line from my 2018 article which reads, ‘ I am not trying to belittle any religion neither am I an atheist, but really, no one knows where he is from and where he is going.

I no longer hold on to the nihilistic, latter part of that statement; I remain faithful to the former—all religions have different narratives of the afterlife and the question for eternity is, ‘Which one is the way?’ From 2018, I researched different religions, thought of becoming an atheist, frolicked with being agnostic, tried embracing my Yorùbá roots enough to end in one of its folk religions, and contemplated converting to Islam — I even asked a friend once if Christians could enter the mosque on Jumu’ah.

I ruminated on the thoughts for a long while; and for someone with Muslims as family and friends, I was too worried about fumbling during an Islamic worship/prayer and getting sent out, or… something. However, in all of this time of pondering and researching, I do not remember any Muslim preaching to me. Maybe I would be fasting Ramadan by now? By the way, Ramadan Kareem.

A poem from my anthology, Beauties of These Days

Questions and Questions

I have been pondering these questions: If Afterlife means eternity for most people, shouldn't we talk about it more than Life itself? If it is more important, shouldn't it be a priority we must discuss with our friends, family, and even strangers, at least once in this life-time? In the same vein, should we not be open to hearing from our family, friends, and strangers on this matter knowing their utmost concern is love? (unless otherwise, feel free to ignore)

I understand the place of religious tolerance and respecting people when they tell you they are not interested in discussing Faith and Afterlife. Yes, you should respect people’s choices and not bug them but my heart burns over these questions so I asked some of my friends—two Muslims, two Christians, and one Agnostic.

The first Muslim told me this is a line they don't cross in their friendships because of respect. They said they believe everyone is mature enough to make their decision and trying to convince or compel them to take another religion would end the friendship.

The second Muslim mentioned mulishness and cited an example of Christians they have told they weren't interested in listening but remained adamant. They told me they don't talk about religion because it is a sensitive issue and only discuss it with someone open enough to learn or ready to convert. They also believe it's God who can change any mind.

The first Christian mentioned they preach and would love to do it more but try to avoid situations that lead to arguments as they can't stress. They noted that it takes the Holy Spirit to convict and show Himself to man and all the Christian has to do is say a little and leave the rest to Him—no need for endless arguments.

The second Christian said they don't preach but they've spoken to another friend about their faith a few times.

The Agnostic noted though they believe conversations on religion should be had, it can be wielded as a political tool rather than for true intentions as I had put it to them.

My friends responded in the affirmative to all the questions I raised earlier. And now that I have some understanding of why some don't preach or don't want to be preached to, I’d like to note something that precedes preaching—understanding your faith.

Author holding a book, Ìgbàgbọ́ àti Ẹ̀sìn Yorùbá (Yoruba Faith and Religion ) by C L Adéoyè, that he hasn't read.

Faith and Flaws

I know faith is a journey and not everyone can be an Apologetic (I once told a friend I don't like the term) but we should all be deeply invested in our faith and be open to discussions. Why? Because your very hereafter depends on it.

There is also the part of preaching your faith with your lifestyle, but how effective would that be compared to the importance of Afterlife? Moreover, how many of our lives are pristine examples of our faith? I wouldn’t say I am. And aligning with my earlier stance, I am on a journey of faith too. Our friends and family know our errors more, anyway.

Nevertheless, your faith should be seen in your lifestyle, which doesn't preclude preaching. We all speak about things we are passionate about. Maybe with our loved ones at first but with time you are trying to convince strangers that CR7 is the GOAT. This is why I am no longer irritated by people who post religious content all day on Social Media. Some are burning to shine the light they've seen, though we may not seem to see the light in others.

This is where hypocrisy may creep in and I've fought this part of my life the longest. My dear, this is not a consolation—everyone is a hypocrite. My agnostic friend puts it better: humanity is flawed and we must all first acknowledge it instead of being judgmental.

Atheists and freethinkers may be averse to religion but don't they have rules and morals they still break? That brother may be missing church because they believe it's a sham and are seeking God for themselves, but do they follow all the commandments of the faith better now that they are out of the fold?

The ‘Nice’ in Nicene Creed

Enough questions for today. Here is all I am saying:

Preach

Be open to discussing your faith and be preached to

Feel free to ignore people who don't respect your choice or just want to keep arguing—that's not preaching.

Know your faith and seek the truth. Research.

Your afterlife depends on this existence and–in the end–your choice is important, so be utterly sure.

Before I go, I wouldn't be a good example if I didn't walk the talk by preaching—so I leave you with the words of the Nicene creed of a faith whose power I have experienced:

I believe in one God, the Father almighty, maker of heaven and earth, of all that is seen and unseen.

I believe in one Lord Jesus Christ, the Only Begotten Son of God, born of the Father before all ages. God from God, Light from Light, true God from true God, begotten, not made, of one being with the Father; through him all things were made. For us men and for our salvation he came down from heaven, and by the Holy Spirit was incarnate of the Virgin Mary, and became man. For our sake he was crucified under Pontius Pilate, he suffered death and was buried, and rose again on the third day in accordance with the Scriptures. He ascended into heaven and is seated at the right hand of the Father. He will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead and his kingdom will have no end.

I believe in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the giver of life, who proceeds from the Father and the Son, who with the Father and the Son is worshiped and glorified, who has spoken through the prophets.

I believe in one, holy, catholic and apostolic Church. I confess one Baptism for the forgiveness of sins and I look forward to the resurrection of the dead and the life of the world to come. Amen.

Happy Easter!

Updated: April 2024

--

--

Ìbùkúnolúwa DÀDA

I'm a vessel ready to be used to voice honour; my quill: the transducer; my ink: amplifier.