A Small Neighborhood Within a Small City

Alahna Martinez
2 min readSep 24, 2021

--

I live in Santa Clarita, but my neighborhood and what I would classify as my community, is Canyon Country. I think of Santa Clarita as a suburb that is on the outskirts of Los Angeles. I know this might not be an accurate claim to make, but personally when I think of suburbs I think of a relatively white community. In 2000, according to the U.S census, the majority of the population, 69%, is white. But, when I was looking up statistics on race within my community, I was surprised to see that the percentage of Hispanics and Whites only differed by one percent.

Chart from censusreporter.org

My community is a pretty expensive place to live, with the single-family housing prices at $536,200. Even though a majority of the households are married couples and the per capita income is about $98,000, the price of homes are expensive. 9.6% of residents here in Canyon Country are below the poverty line. Compared to all of California, that is roughly two thirds.

There is 23% of people that live here from a foreign country. Latin America is the majority with Asia runner up at 36%. I thought this was interesting because in my statistics earlier, the amount of people that claimed to be Asian in the community was a low 10%. The main language that is spoken amongst households, even with children, is english only. The second most common, is Spanish. I was expecting that it would be an even number of Spanish and English speaking households, but English was quite a bit higher.

Chart from censusreporter.org

In terms of Coronavirus, Santa Clarita as a whole is pretty high up on the charts for infection rate. In total, we’ve had 26,021 reported cases. In the last 225 days, the numbers have shot up expeditiously. In March of 2020 it was under 5,000, and now in September of 2021 it has gone beyond 26,000. Thats a lot of cases for a city with a population of about 200,000 people.

Chart from products.xtown.la

--

--