Another Poem

Mark Markelson
3 min readJun 21, 2024

This one is also by ChatGPT. Like the previous one, this is a 76 line poem with 592 syllables total. This is a homage.

In the heart of the city where dreams ignite, Amidst the hustle and neon lights so bright. Every corner tells a story, a tale untold, Where the young and restless strive for gold.

From the crack of dawn to the dead of night, Echoes of ambition take flight. Concrete jungle, where hopes collide, In the rhythm of life, we all abide.

I walk these streets with a pen in hand, Capturing moments like grains of sand. Each step I take, each word I write, Reflects the struggle, the fight, the plight.

From the stoops of brownstones to subway cars, Where dreams soar high like shooting stars. Voices of the people, whispers in the wind, Their stories unfold, where do they begin?

In the shadows cast by towering steel, Where secrets whispered, passions concealed. Artists paint murals on brick walls, Voices echo in dimly lit halls.

From Harlem’s soul to Brooklyn’s beat, Every borough pulses with its own heartbeat. I rhyme with the rhythm of the subway’s hum, In the city that never sleeps, where dreams come from.

From the Bronx to Queens, Staten Island’s shore, In every borough, there’s a tale to explore. Graffiti tags tell tales of rebellion and pride, In the heartbeat of the city, where legends reside.

I’m the bard of the boulevard, poet of the pavement, In this urban labyrinth, finding my enslavement. Verse…

--

--

Mark Markelson

I'm a prose writer attempting to document my life. Journal entries and poetry is what I enjoy. You’ll get the occasional short story too. Join me on my journey!