Alan He
4 min readJul 25, 2024

--

This year, I’ve enjoyed using Duolingo. While it hasn’t significantly improved my skills, it has helped me consolidate basic vocabulary and improve my listening skills. Plus, it doesn’t take much time, averaging just a few to a dozen minutes daily.

Here, I’ll introduce how I use Duolingo.

Platform

Duolingo is cross-platform, supporting Android, iOS, and the Web. There is no Mac version.

I mostly use the iOS version, with the Web version as my secondary choice.

Free or Paid Service?

You can use Duolingo for free, but there will be ads, and hearts are limited, meaning you can’t keep going indefinitely every day.

If you need a membership, I recommend joining a family plan. For example, I joined a family plan, and after sharing the cost, it’s 38 CNY/year. The main benefits of membership are as follows.

https://static.1991421.cn/2024/2024-07-13-160241.jpeg

I suggest playing for a while first and then, if you need, getting a membership. Light users can still enjoy the app without a membership.

Instructions

Whether through the Web or App, you can start using it after registering an account.

Courses

First, choose the language you want to learn and fill in your current language proficiency. Set your daily learning…

--

--