Alan Klement
4 min readApr 5, 2019

--

So if I follow your reasoning above, one couldn’t have created an Uber or an iPod with JTBD research methods

There are no JTBD research methods.

JTBD is a theory. Saying that JTBD has methods, is like saying Evolution or Plate Tectonics have methods.

Instead, we would use JTBD theory to help us understand why people buy and use Uber, Taxis,….whatever, AND to predict future hires of Uber, Taxis,….

Now what you do with those data vary. You could:

  1. Change your advertising
  2. Redefine your market segments
  3. Adjust your product so it gets hired for a JTBD vs
  4. Use it as a basis to create new Jobs to be Done

I’ll phrase it this way. JTBD is a theory that helps us make this statement:

Given a consumer with these Desires + Constraints + Catalysts…

If we put this Choice Set in front of them…

We predict that they will buy X

We’ve got to bring it back to “What is theory”. Theory is used to explain how a natural phenomenon happens, so we can predict when/if it will happen in the future.

E.g. The theory of relativity predicts that if I go near a black hole, time will slow down for me.

Now if Bob, Clay, and all those other JTBD promoters are gonna call JTBD a theory, then they must submit to the fact that all theories aim to explain and predict.

How does an innovator use JTBD theory?

I feel like this is the real question at hand.

My answer is: we use JTBD theory to help us explain what market-demand looks like today.

This is important to know, because if I want to create a new innovation (either sustaining or disruptive) I need to know what market I plan to build upon / disrupt.

For example. The iPhone is a brilliant innovation. Perhaps the most successful product ever. However, if I went back to 1980 and introduced the iPhone, it would have flopped. Why? It has no market to plug into. The Job to be Done that existed in 2007, did not exist in 1980.

(This is actually a great example of the use of JTBD theory. It helps us explain why an innovation would not have worked in the past)

People who happily use taxis, have no Job to be Done.

Why is that?

OK. Let's start by dropping the lingo “Jobs to be Done”. Now let’s use the Mario Brothers example:

  1. Little Mario has a desire to become big Mario. Let’s call this BIG MARIO DESIRE
  2. When little Mario eats a mushroom, he becomes big Mario.
  3. Because Mario is now big Mario, he no longer has BIG MARIO DESIRE

Now just replace BIG MARIO DESIRE with Job to be Done.

When little Mario wanted to become big Mario, he has the Job to be Done “Become Big Mario”

When he hired a mushroom and become big Mario, his job to be Done “Become Big Mario” went away. Now he’s just big Mario.

If I look at the textbook definition of a job, I can’t find any variant of a definition that would make the sentence above make sense.

I’ve written about this before, but the purpose of JTBD is to elicit the imagery associated with the first definition of “job”:

JTBD is called “JTBD” because it’s aim is to convey the image that the relationship between a consumer and a product, is much like the relationship between an employer and an employee.

Moreover, it’s based upon the idea that consumers want benefits, but don't want to do the work to get those benefits.

Example

I start a business. As part of starting a business, I’ll need to “become tax compliant”. But I don’t know anything about that. And if I did, I don't want to do the work to “become tax compliant”.

So what do I do? I hire an accountant to do the work of making sure I’m tax complaint.

In other words, I had a Job to be Done of “Become tax compliant”, so I hired an accountant to help me become tax compliant. And when that happened, my job to be done (become tax compliant) went away. Now my business is tax compliant.

Now, what about firing? Well, suppose I get a letter from the IRS saying that I’m no longer tax complaint. Now I have a Job to be Done “become tax compliant” moreover, I will fire my accountant and hire a new one.

So, in summary, why is JTBD called “JTBD”?

It’s because you should think of your customer as your employer. And she is hiring you (maker of product) to do work FOR her.

And as long as you do that work for her, she will continue to pay you. If you don’t she will fire you and hire someone else.

The product does the work; the consumer enjoys the benefits.

--

--

Alan Klement

I help businesses become great at making and selling products that people will buy. Contact me: www.alanklement.com www.idealizedinnovation.com