Consciousness Ain’t Real — Part 2

Alan Tabor
The Startup
Published in
6 min readMar 16, 2020

--

Part 1 related why I think the discounting consciousness is wrong as in misguided. Part 2, here, explains why I think the idea is wrong as in damaging!

What I find disturbing is the gap between the experimental findings and the conceptual framework the authors lead with

It’s back!

As far as I can tell, the revival of consciously thinking that conscious thinking has no impact was initiated in a 2008 article in Nature refining Libet’s earlier work.

Here’s a precis of the Nature article, probably too abbreviated but the full article is behind a paywall. To make it easy, I’ll summarize the article further on.

What I find disturbing is the gap between the experimental findings and the conceptual framework the authors lead with!

What is claimed

To quote the intro to the full version of the study:

The impression that we are able to freely choose between different
possible courses of action is fundamental to our mental life.
However, it
has been suggested that this subjective experience of freedom is no
more than an illusion…

--

--

Alan Tabor
The Startup

Berkeley Backpacking Biz Lifer, System Builder, Coder, Community Organizer, Music and Evolutionary Biology Geek. All my projects at http://altabor.org/