I don’t love computers, but I think we should all learn some computer science this week…

Albert Lee
2 min readDec 5, 2018

--

#CSEdWeek

Many people are reluctant to learn computer science. When I ask for their reasoning, the most common response is some form of “I don’t like computers.”

They have a point. Screens are often distractions from that which is most important in life, interacting with the people we care about. We have screens in classrooms, dinner tables, and even nightstands, and in my vision of a better future, people are less attached to computers than they are now.

During Kindergarten, I definitely wished my mom spent less time in front of computers 😭

Given my personal distaste for screens, why do I support computer science education? Many people define computer science as “the science of computers.” Although that is true to some extent, that is an oversimplification of reality. It is computer science that led to computers, not the other way around. By studying the thought-processes that created computers, we become more empowered to influence the impact of technology on our lives. By studying computer science, we are choosing to play a more active role in the decisions that align technology with our more human values.

Many computer science learners will become great computer scientists. However, there will be many more who pursue other fields such as business, medicine, education, or maybe even art and music. We need a greater diversity of voices to transform our technology-driven culture into one that affirms the dignity of humanity.

During Computer Science Education Week 2018 (Dec 3–9), take some time to learn more about computer science. Below are a few free resources to get started.

--

--