First Indie Game Prototype — A New Challenge

Alberto Lanata
4 min readNov 27, 2023

--

Launching a prototype every month, a continuous game jam, that’s my new game development methodology.

A short video announcing my dec23 Demo

This will be my first delivery (follow me to be notified when I release the demo).

Recently, I decided to work in monthly cycles. The purpose of treating my new project as a series of game jams is to improve the prioritization of my time and ensure the release of a game within the stipulated timeframe.

At the end of each month, I must release a playable prototype, fun, and with all the basic features such as menus, sound controls, etc. I don’t have time to dream, over-scope, or enroll in a course on something that may or may not be useful. I have to ensure that a game is completed.

What do I feel has worked with the new methodology?

Control of the game scope:

I have one month to finish it. It sounds great to include a boss that uses lasers to modify parts of the map, but I know I won’t finish it in one month. So, I focus on providing the greatest variety of gameplay with the enemies I’ve already created or can easily modify.

Simplification where possible:

The game has no animations, and I’m not using very fancy 3D models. In fact, I’ve made the models using cubes and spheres in Unity. I don’t have to feel bad if my models are not very refined; this is a game jam.

In this month, I won’t have enough time to learn 3D modeling and animations. If I can use a simple and quick style, it will improve my chances of winning this game jam.

Always close to launch:

Something I felt at the end of the development of my first game was psychological pressure for not being able to finish soon. It was a year of development, always at 80% completion, always feeling like I was missing infinite things.

Now I don’t feel that way; I will launch it in December. There are no more turns to take. My challenge is to use the time and resources I have to make the best prototype possible.

I might wish for more time to include something new, but game jams don’t accept submissions after the deadline.

Follow the fun:

I feel that my approach has changed a lot. I no longer complicate things by thinking about whether the game will be successful, if the mechanics will be appealing to social networks, or any other doubts that arise in a very long project. There’s no time for that.

While developing this prototype, I only think about how to make it fun with the elements I have. The next thing I add has to be what generates the most fun, period. There’s nothing else to think about.

I should write a section where I mention what hasn’t worked, but for now, everything seems to be going well. I’ll add that section if I find any disadvantages.

Brutal battle screenshoot

What actions have I taken in this development?

Eliminating animations:

As I’ve mentioned ad nauseam, I’m not using 3D models or animations in this game. I have no experience in it, and I feel it will take me too long to learn.

Focus on 1–2 hooks:

The idea for my next game is much bigger, and I’ll achieve it over 12 game jams. For this first delivery, I’ve blocked my mind from all that. I’m only thinking about what I can do this month.

The game is a kind of tower defense where enemies follow the player instead of attacking the base. There’s also a lot of focus on grab and throw objects. The player can attack, but it will do much more damage by throwing objects.

Doing a lot with a little:

I bought a set of rocks and terrains for $10. I’ve built a small island and am creating the most content possible only in that space. A player can finish the prototype in just 15 minutes, but it will be 15 quality minutes.

What is the prototype about?

The prototype is a modification of the classic tower defense with a focus on grab and throw. Normally, enemies will walk along a defined path, and the player will strategically create turrets to defend. In this case, there is no defined path.

During the night, enemies will seek the player, and the player will have to escape, luring enemies into the traps built during the day.

During the day, the player can explore the island, finding challenges, treasures, and secrets. Exploring the island can yield rewards that help defend the player at night, but it could also mean the loss of HP.

Currently, there are 2 types of enemies and 3 levels of turrets, but I hope to develop more. I want to include a boss for the final wave, 2 more types of enemies (nothing too complex), and 2 constructions so that the player can complement the turrets and devise strategies.

That’s all for now. What do you think of the game jam methodology? What do you think of this prototype? At the end of December, I’ll release a demo, so stay tuned.

Thank you for reading this far and for all the support.

--

--