Is a phantom Instagram notification driving you f*cking crazy?

Al Clunnie
1 min readFeb 17, 2019

--

F*ck You, Phantom Instagram Notification

I run multiple Instagram accounts for myself and for clients. For weeks, every time I log in to the app on my phone, it’s been telling me there’s X number of notifications for one particular account, but when I switch to that account, the actual number is X-1.

No big deal, just a glitch. Switch back to another account, but yet again it says I have another notification in that account.

It’s such a minor thing, but after weeks of this it gets pretty dull.

The internet wasn’t very helpful with suggestions of unlinking accounts, watching all the IGTVs or scrolling through all the DMs.

None of the above worked.

Here’s what worked.

Log in to your Instagram account on an actual computer.

See it says you’ve got some notifications? Click.

See that smug little bastard of a red dot still there? What a f*cking bastard.

Do a HARD refresh of the page. On a mac that’s cmd+Shift+R.

On Windows that’s #whofingcaresyoureonwindowsfigureitout

DONE.

You’re welcome.

If you’re enjoying this you should get my weekly email! Signup here.

--

--

Al Clunnie

One day at a time. Email Copywriter. Vegan(ish). Barefoot Runner. alclunnie.com