Why Belgium never feels like home

From the eye of a foreigner who live in Belgium for more than 2 decades

Alda Trisda
4 min readJan 4, 2024

The differences between Belgium and Indonesia

In Belgium, a Western European nation, the culture is greatly influenced by French, Dutch, and German traditions. The country is known for its medieval architecture, love for chocolates, waffles, and beer, and a strong emphasis on punctuality and efficiency. It does sound like a great place to settle.

On the other hand, Indonesia, where I was born and raised, located in Southeast Asia, has a rich and diverse culture shaped by various indigenous customs, Hindu, Buddhist, and Islamic influences. The country is renowned for its vibrant batik fabrics, traditional dances, and gamelan music.

Belgium and Indonesia are two countries with distinct cultural differences. Additionally, the Indonesian culture places high value on community, hospitality, and respect for elders. These differences reflect the unique histories and traditions that have shaped each country’s cultural identity.

Common complaints in Indonesia

Many people express frustrations with Indonesia’s traffic congestion, particularly in capital city Jakarta. Complaints about the inadequate infrastructure and crowded streets are common, as well as concerns about air pollution resulting from heavy traffic. Additionally, some visitors and residents voice complaints about the challenges of navigating bureaucratic processes in the country. These complaints often relate to immigration procedures, obtaining permits, and other administrative tasks.

I didnt really realise these complaints until I had troubles myself. I wished not to live in a such chaotic place! Now it has been better, but now I have not been reside in Indonesia for half of my life. I spent it most in Belgium. Such a nice quite country with everything is extremely in order and very structured… until you decide to live there for several years or a decade.

What people complaints in Belgium

I had a good impression of Belgium. I was so sure I had everything that I hope for, for a country. The people respect each other (read: giving space or doesnt care at all). That is great! (Indonesians are very nosy!) Until I realised that Belgium is often a topic of complaint of how complex political structure is, which can lead to bureaucratic inefficiencies and difficulties in decision-making. Additionally, I gave up a good tropical weather! Belgium’s unpredictable weather is a frequent source of frustration, with rain and overcast skies prevailing for much of the year. Many also lament the high taxes and cost of living, which can put a strain on personal finances. Finally, the linguistic and cultural divide between the Flemish and Walloon regions can lead to tensions and complaints about lack of unity and understanding.

The Belgian natives certainly blame the foreigners who live temperary or permanent for not being integrated to the community, for not being able to speak the languages properly, for bringing the foreign culture, for being too friendly, practically for being yourselves! While they are themselves extremely distant to any one and no way you could be considered as a friend if you didnt share a history together such as ex classmate or ex colleague. They never make a friend just because they live next to each other, let alone being in the same bus or any other public places. They will be friendly (they are fond of being polite as a sign of being educated), but they will not remember or care about you at all.

Living with Belgians

The first time I moved to Belgium more that 2 decades a go, I brought pisang goreng to the neighbours and tried to make friend. I must had been watching too much TV that in western world people are welcoming each other by sending each other food, just like in my home country. It was so wrong! Anyway, once in a while I still gave the neighbour a cake (nothing cultural in food) and it still felt a big mistake. They were complaining as if I gave only because I simply had way too much food. Since then I stop making that mistake.

Belgium is a place you could not afford being negative at all.

While in Indonesia, the air is very poluted; in Belgium, the negativity is very countageous and toxic. Once you were negative, you’ll feel everything is so wrong and you will be in a high risk of being crazy. You need decillion tons of positivity in your mind and keep your cicle-friend close to you to survive.

There’s no perfect country

I remember once I was asked by an Indonesian backpacker across Europe of how it felt to live abroad for a decade. I was stunned by the question, I never thought about that at all and after a few minute my answer was… “I dont belong to either Belgium nor Indonesia”. At that time I realised the high price of leaving my country permanently. How easy it was living in Indonesia. How blessed Indonesia is! Despite those criticisms in the beginning of this article, many individuals with any national, includes me and many of my Indonesian friends in Belgium, still appreciate Indonesia’s rich cultural heritage, diverse landscapes, and warm hospitality. Not just appreciate, looonggiiinnngg……

More stories:

--

--

Alda Trisda

Children's book author, Co-owner Little K publisher, Owner: TipsBilingual.com (closed permanently) & JuniorLitBooks.com (open soon), Autism mom, Literary agent