8 | On Challenge Hiccups and Resistance

Alec M Perez
1 min readJun 9, 2017

--

Challenge Hiccup #2: June 8 passed and I didn’t post even though I had a draft waiting for an edit.

I knew I was going to have hiccups at the beginning of this challenge. I knew it was going to be hard for me to write consistently and publish everyday.

The goal is to write and publish everyday. No matter the length, no matter the time, as long as it was posted and published.

I completed a week, and as with any milestone, I’d probably celebrate and be like, yeah I can do this, it’s not too hard. LIES, for me, it’s even harder because part of my challenge is to overcome the fear of letting these thoughts live in a public space and just press publish. The goal is to write and publish everyday. No matter the length, no matter the time, as long as it is published.

So, as the self doubt lingers and my thoughts wander to things like “Am I going to read this in a month and laugh, or eye roll at what I put out there for public consumption,” to “I wonder if I’ve even using the Medium platform right.”

Instead of letting them get to me, this is a moment where I, instead of throwing in the towel, will write down my thoughts at 1:31am on the 9th — which I will still take as a win because I didn’t let resistance get the best of me.

--

--

Alec M Perez

a Los Angeles based creative man of leisure | @alecisamazing