Saying goodbye to The Pop Up Agency

Some weeks ago I took a very difficult decision; to leave the company that I co-founded and helped building for the past three years of my life.

Alejandro Masferrer
3 min readDec 15, 2015

The Pop Up Agency has been one of my main focuses, worries and the source of joy for these past years. It was the reason why I travelled like crazy, the excuse to meet uncountable amazing people around the world and my golden ticket to talk at many conferences, universities and schools. It made me wiser, it made me more cultivated and it made me have experiences that I didn’t ever think I would.

Although The Pop Up Agency has basically been a dream-job, during the last months, I felt there was something missing: I stopped learning. During these three years, my interests and motivations changed, and they were not aligned with the company’s mission and focus anymore.

When I realised this, I had no other option but to be honest with myself, face it and leave the company that I co-founded.

Julia, Zlatko and Maksi from The Pop Up Agency enjoying a sunny day at the café close our London office

From now on, I’ll be looking for new opportunities outside The Pop Up Agency that focus on what I’m feeling passionate about at the moment. I want to work with strategy, trends, futures and business transformation. I want to understand the world better, learn about what’s happening and predict what can happen, not only in technology, but also in society, culture, economics, etc. I want to develop my analytical mind, my experience in youth culture and put that in practice to help brands and companies to contribute to the present/future.

I still don’t know what the next chapter will be for me, but I know that if I didn’t try to get out there and look for new opportunities I would be betraying myself. So I had to try.

The Pop Up Agency + Christopher Robin, our spiritual guide

It would be crazy to try to name every single one that helped me/us out during these three years, but, to all family members, friends and The Pop Up Agency fans, thanks a lot for your support.

As an ending note, I want to thank my (ex)partners Abraham, Maksimilian, Julia and Zlatko from the bottom of my heart. It’s been a truly amazing journey and I’m extremely happy I got to share it with you. Best of luck to them and to The Pop Up Agency.

Long live The Pop Up Agency,
Alejandro

If you know about any opportunity that might match with my new direction or just want to share any thoughts with me, please get in touch on my personal email, Twitter or LinkedIn.

--

--

Alejandro Masferrer

Founder of @trytriggers, a playful think tank committed to making teamwork more human and efficient.