My top 5 principles in PM’s shoes

Olena Kapatsyn
3 min readMay 1, 2023

--

It has been two months since I relocated to Canada, changing the trajectory of my life. This meant saying goodbye to my previous lovely company and starting from scratch in a new country.

Unfortunately, recruiters are unaware by default that I am an experienced woman in product management 😂 So, I began self-promotion and advertising under the motto “look at me — I have a lot of perks especially for SAAS companies”. The process isn’t easy, but it can lead to so many amazing questions. Btw, I wrote this article in response to one of such questions asked recently and decided to gather all stories under #bereadytoanswer tag.

What did the hiring person ask me?

In addition to knowing about the technologies, metrics, and team structure that I used to work with, I was asked about the PM principles. Although I’m not a principal, I have a lot of principles (I call them my Product Owner philosophy) that I think are important to keep in mind in a Product Manager’s role.

In my opinion, every PM should comply with these five principles:

5 principles of PM
  1. Don’t take off customers’ shoes

In order to develop products that people will want to use and pay for, I need to understand my customers and their needs. Why? Because money comes from customers. Money is the basis of business. The business is the product. Customers use products.

2. Without data I am only a person with opinion.

Decisions are based on data. No news, how data is crucial for making informed decisions. Analyzing data and making better decisions will help you minimize risk.

Data not available? Search for it. You can buy it. Do your research. Test A/B options. Analyze your competitors. Think outside the box.

3. Successful products are never “done.”

Continuous improvement is the essence of this principle.

A good product requires ongoing improvement and iteration based on feedback from customers and market conditions. The Product Manager’s job is to constantly look for ways to improve a product and make it more successful.

4. Everything is possible.

Things that are impossible usually need more time. For me, it’s also about creativity and desire. Keep your mind open to possibilities instead of getting locked into impossible situations.

5. 1+1=100 : synergy is a key

Cross-functional collaboration: Product Managers work with teams from engineering, marketing, sales, and customer service. The success of this role depends on the ability to collaborate and communicate effectively. Ensure all stakeholders are aligned around the product vision and goals by building relationships with key stakeholders. The most will be gained once all relationships are built and established.

People say that a good text should end with an action item.

So, my action item for you is to identify your top five principles in your industry and remember :

Products alone don’t solve problems — people do.

--

--