Sequential and Simultaneous Ops With Async Await

Learn to use Swift Async Await in a practical way

Alessandro Manilii
5 min readDec 18, 2023

In today’s article, we will analyze sequential and parallel call flows using Swift Async Await system.

Since we are in the Christmas period, we will tailor our example by creating Christmas tree decorations… 🎄

As usually you can find the full code of the final project (SwiftUI and UIKit versions) in my Patreon page:

If you like my articles, think about supporting me 👍

The General Idea

In order to complete a Christmas tree, I need to fetch all the stuff. I keep all my decorations in my garage, so I need to go down, take all the boxes, bring them back to my home and build it all.

There are different ways to achieve it all: you can bring piece by piece and build the tree as soon as you have the suff, you can bring everything home and build once for all or you can mix both ways.

--

--

Alessandro Manilii

I’m an Italian professional iOS Developer, iOS Tech Lead at Wakala — Join Medium from the following link: https://medium.com/@alessandromanilii/membership