Gone Vegan In 60 Seconds

Alex Moller
4 min readApr 11, 2018

--

“ROME WASN’T BUILT IN A DAY.”

What does that REALLY mean?

It meant a lot to me as a kid, coming from my dad, when I used to return from karate practice, after another ass kicking. My frustration boiling over at what seemed like my consistent lack of progress.

It felt good hearing it at the time because it reminded my impatient self that great things don’t just happen overnight.

“Rome wasn’t built in a day.”

And that is true; most, if not all, great things don’t just happen overnight because they require a level of patience, practice and repetition — unfortunately, right?

But some, however, require nothing more than a change in outlook or some confidence inducing information. And other times just some crazy, coincidental introduction to something incredible.

Of course, going vegan can seem like a long, hard process.

When I first began contemplating the possibility of giving it a go, it sounded as difficult as skateboarding uphill with a refrigerator strapped to my back.

Plain and simple, I wasn’t ready to compromise all the foods I loved.

I wasn’t prepared to start looking at what I ate so closely.

I wasn’t willing to risk a B12 or protein deficiency.

I called it taking my time, but the reality was, I wasn’t serious about changing. My using excuses day after day told me that.

I mean, Rome wasn’t built in a day, right?

YOU CAN’T JUST CHANGE YEARS OF HABITS IN A MINUTE, RIGHT?

So, after all that, I’m sure you’re you’re wondering how I went vegan in 60 seconds.

Well, it wasn’t me that went vegan (admittedly, it actually took me a whole 60 minutes of watching Earthlings to make my decision.).

It was an old friend of mine.

Ironically, since I’ve been vegan, most of our conversations consisted of me defending the cause and him mocking it. So when I was on my way to work and the phone started ringing, flashing his name on the screen, I was ready for another casual, friendly debate.

But he wasn’t looking to debate me.

He was calling to share a story that changed his life forever.

He’s a stand-up comedian so his rhetoric is usually delivered with humor, but this time he was serious.

He was driving home from work, and a baby deer unexpectedly ran in front of his car. It was almost midnight, so his reflexes were a little off, but the second he realized what was happening, he slammed on the brakes and the car skidded forward.

BANG!

He stepped out of the car and carefully approached the bonnet.

Not far from the front of the car, the young creature was lying there. Almost lifeless. Trying its hardest to grasp on to whatever life they have left.

My friend didn’t get into any more detail. He stopped there, and truth is, I didn’t feel the need to ask him to continue.

He sounded shocked. After a few seconds of comforting him, we paused.

“So what now?” I asked him.

He simply vowed to never hurt an animal ever again — in any way. All he needed was a little direction.

He wasn’t sure where to start. Protein, B12, Iron, Calcium: Up until then, society has convinced him into believing that those nutrients could only be found in animal products.

He was understandably lost. We arranged to catch up that evening and I drove him straight to the nearest supermarket.

“This one’s on me,” I said.

We grabbed a basket and went to town!

We drove back to his house and I explained to him what product contains which nutrients.

“These lentils are full of iron.”

“Kale is a great source of calcium.”

I gave him a list of protein sources and he was ready to go.

Rome may not have been built in a day, but going vegan can be.

Going vegan is far from hard. It doesn’t require much thought and, contrary to what society keeps telling us, it’s the most nutritious option.

A simple paradigm shift and a slight boost in knowledge is all it requires.

It shouldn’t really take more than 60 seconds.

I was so encouraged by that night with my friend that I decided to somehow re-create it and make going vegan super easy for people, without having to have a tragic accident to jumpstart it.

And because taking everyone shopping is impossible, I did the next best thing.

I created the 60 Second Vegan Meal Plan

It’s everything you could possibly want — easy, quick, and FREE, without the risk of excuses — because who doesn’t have 60 seconds?

Well, 65 seconds, because it’ll take another 5 seconds to download it here.

PS… if you know anyone who could use help with their vegan transition or lifestyle, share this with them so they can grow as well.

Knowledge is meant to be shared.

- Alex Moller
Vegr Co-Founder

Want to know more about Vegr? Start here.

--

--