Interview with a Ukrainian. Dima.

Alexander Semenyuk
3 min readOct 14, 2022

Hi, friends,

Here is my interview with a Ukrainian friend living in US, enjoy.

Hi, Dima, can you tell us a bit about yourself?

Originally I’m from Ukraine,Kyiv I was born in Soviet Union in 1988 Ive been in USA about 23 years. Currently I work as a Store Manager at Walmart as well as a life insurance agent

What was your reaction when you found out the war has started?

As much as we all talked about it. Honestly I was shocked I think we all were including my dad who Belarusian and my step mom who is Russian. Relationship with Russia since 2014 has changed a lot but full out war we thought our Slavic brothers would never go that route and people will protest but we saw what we saw.

How are your family and friends doing?

So much has happen my god mother and my cousin left Ukraine they went to Turkey first there were there for 90 days then went back to Kyiv got their stuff and now in Germany. My uncle is currently fighting for ZSU he is an ex spetznaz forces. Currently his getting shipped to Donbas. My other side of family is in Sacramento which is a long story how I get them here but it wasn’t easy lets just say I dont like Tijuana at all. But proud of my self and people I helped while being there

--

--