Your nifty guide to playing basketball in the San Francisco, Bay Area 🏀✨

Alexa Herasimchuk
7 min readJan 10, 2018

--

In 2012, I moved to San Francisco after I quit playing college basketball in Wisconsin. I remember the moment I walked into my coach’s office and told him I was leaving. It was not a happy moment. I never imagined I would have done such a thing. When I moved to San Francisco that summer, I didn’t know a lot of people but I did know I needed to find somewhere to play basketball — because that’s what I knew and that’s what I did.

Now, almost 6 years later, I’ve consistently played in 2–3 (and sometimes 4) basketball games per week ranging from indoor to outdoor pickup games, to organized basketball leagues, to organizing my own basketball league, to playing in full-court tournaments, 3v3 tournaments and beyond. But even more importantly, basketball is the reason I have met some of my very closest friends — and that has made all the difference.

Lately I’ve had a lot of people reaching out to me for advice on where to play basketball at in the area.

Oh that’s easy, there are LOTS of places to play basketball here. It just depends what you’re looking for…

So today I’ve decided it’s time to put together a guide— your guide — to playing basketball in the San Francisco, Bay Area. Hoop it helps!

—

Best Outdoor Pickup

This list is in no particular order except line item #1.

  1. Dolores Park → FAV
  2. Mission Playground
  3. Joe DiMaggio Playground
  4. Alice Marble Tennis Courts
    Yes. This park has basketball courts and not just tennis courts!
  5. The Panhandle
Left = Dolores Park // Right = Alice Marble Tennis Courts

Best Indoor Pickup

This list is in no particular order. For Rec Centers, make sure to call ahead to confirm when open gym is happening.

  1. Potrero Hill Rec Center
    Location: Potrero Hill, San Francisco
    Cost: Free
  2. Betty Ong Rec Center
    Location: Chinatown, San Francisco
    Cost: Free
  3. Outer Sunset Rec Center
    Location: Outer Sunset, San Francisco
    Cost: Free
  4. Pick Her Up Basketball
    For women only
    Location: Head Royce High School
    Day: Sundays 3:00PM–5:00PM
    Cost: $5 (Cash or Venmo)
    A good friend of mine, Emma Leyden, runs this pickup group and has been doing an amazing job with it. You can learn more about her story here.
  5. Women’s All BBall
    For women only
    Location:
    San Francisco and Oakland
    Cost: n/a
  6. Eureka Valley Women’s Open Gym
    For women only
    Location: Eureka Valley Rec Center
    Day: Tuesdays from 6:30PM–9:00PM
    Cost: Free
Pick Her Up Basketball + Women’s All BBall 2017 Collab

Basketball Leagues

There is a wide range of basketball leagues to choose from in the Bay and each of them offer something different depending on what you want. Here is the list of leagues that are on my radar, in no particular order.

  1. UCSF Mission Bay Leagues
    Location: UCSF Mission Bay and Parnassus Campuses
    Leagues offered: Women’s, Men’s, and Coed
    Competitiveness: High
    Recommendation: UCSF runs some very good basketball leagues. Their women’s league is my favorite in the city. Their facilities are high quality, staff is professional and the price is very afforable. Players who play in these leagues are often ex-college players or players who have at least played in high school — although this is not a requirement.
  2. Work Force Athletics (WFA)
    Location: Varies: San Francisco, South Bay, East Bay
    Leagues offered: Corporate Coed
    Competitiveness: Moderate to High
    Recommendation: This is by far one of the most fun and competitive adult basketball leagues I have ever played in. WFA is very well organized/managed and it’s reminiscent of my experiences competing in high school and college since each team in the league is given a coach who works with them throughout the season. You don’t need to have a ton of experience to play in this league, there are different divisions to manage the different levels of competitiveness. WFA is a corporate basketball league and is designed to allow employees to create stronger relationships with their colleagues outside of the office, as well as encourage company pride in good spirit competition, and get a good work out in!
  3. Zog Sports Leagues
    Location: Varies; The Mission
    Leagues offered: Women’s, Men’s, Coed and Corporate
    Competitiveness: Low to Moderate
    Recommendation: I’ve only played in one Zog Sports (coed) league and immediately realized that this league was not right for me. My biggest critique of Zog Sports is that it doesn’t organize the fundamentals which I require a league to have in order for me to want to pay for it. They don’t hire professional referees, team’s must keep their own score and although all players are given matching shirts— the shirts don’t have numbers on them. If these details don’t matter much to you, then Zog Sports could be your match! Although Zog Sports isn’t the right league for me, I found the organization to be quite professional.
  4. Play in the Bay
    Location:
    The Marina and Telegraph Hill
    Leagues offered:
    Men’s, Coed
    Competitiveness:
    n/a
    Recommendation: I’ve only heard about Play in the Bay from word of mouth so I don’t have useful recommendations for this league. I have heard one of the gyms they rent out for coed games is quite small although I’m sure this is subject to change.
  5. SF Social
    Location:
    Chinatown and North Beach
    Leagues offered: Men’s, Coed
    Competitiveness: n/a
    Recommendations: I’ve only heard about SF Social from word of mouth so I don’t have useful recommendations for this league. From my understanding, the basketball leagues they offer are fairly new.
  6. Adult Basketball Events
    Location: Carlmont High School
    Leagues offered: Men’s, Coed
    Competitiveness: High to Moderate
    Recommendations: A friend of mine, Michael Baker, runs these leagues. He is a true diehard basketball-er. I’ve only subbed in games for Michael, so I really don’t know much about the leagues but, since I know Michael personally, I would definitely recommend checking this league out for those who live near the Carlmont High School area. I know, he knows the in’s and out’s of putting together good basketball events.
  7. Dream League
    Location: Varies across San Francisco and Oakland
    Leagues offered: Men’s
    Competitiveness: High
    Recommendations: I’ve known the owner of Dream League, Rich Twu, since I first moved to San Francisco. Although Dream League only runs men’s leagues, I played consistently in one of their leagues for about 1–2 years. Rich does a very good job putting these leagues together. Players should expect a high-level of game play from Dream League since they run the leagues based on NBA rules which also includes double-elimination playoffs.
  8. Olympic Club Leagues
    Location: Olympic Club
    Leagues offered: Women’s, Men’s
    Competitiveness: High
    Recommendations: Olympic Club runs leagues that are invite-only. I’ve never been invited to play so I can’t tell you much about them! What I have heard is that these leagues are often very competitive and teams run practiced plays.

Golden City Sports UPDATE: GCS is on hold
GCS is a basketball league I started in 2017 and of course, I think it’s the best one. Check out the website to learn all the details. Through running this league I’ve learned just how challenging it is to find an open and affordable gym space in the city. I’m giving major props to all the leagues out there making it work. Because of this roadblock, Golden City Sports is in limbo until we can find a proper gym space.

Location: TBD
Leagues offered: Coed
Competitiveness: High

Basketball Tournaments

My friend, Michael Baker, organizes a handful of basketball tournaments throughout the year. Michael posts information for these tournaments through his website, Adult Basketball Events. One of the more well-known tournaments that I’ve played in through him is the annual Ohana Basketball Tournament. It is typically scheduled for the first weekend after NYE.

Women’s All BBall is known to organize an annual 3v3 women’s outdoor tournament sometime during the year. You can learn more about those events here.

Left = Ohana Basketball Tournament 2017 // Right = Women’s All BBall 3v3 2016

Final Thoughts…

I’d love to think about this guide as a work in progress. If you think I’ve missed something, then defintely let me know! I’m always down to check out new courts, leagues to play (or sub) in, and meet new people to run with. Just give me a hollar and let’s hoop 🏀✨

Photo from Golden City Sports 2017

More Recommendations

Big thanks to everyone who has reached out about my guide! I’m happy to hear that it’s been helpful. Since originally posting, I’ve had a few people reach out with even more recommendations for places to play. I’ve decided to add them here at the end. Happy hooping!

Upper Noe Rec Center
Location: Noe Valley, San Francisco
Cost: Free

Campbell Rec Center Leagues
Location:
Campbell, CA
Leagues offered: Women’s, Men’s
Competitiveness: Beginner and Advanced

Thanks for reading! If you thought this guide was helpful, give it a clap-clap. You can find me on Instagram as hello_imalexa 🔥

--

--

Alexa Herasimchuk

Design Community Manager: Zendesk Creative. Previously Product Designer: Zendesk & Yelp. I want the world to be better because I was here. More: alexaleighh.com