Design Talk: Apple’s Packaging is as NICE as their hardware!

Alex Ander
3 min readSep 17, 2016

--

So, I broke down and ordered an Apple MacBook Pro (MBP). I have been using the MBP for a couple of days now and have been impressed on many levels from the sleek hardware, the software, and yes, the packaging.

As a New Yorker, shopping on the internet has become my main and preferred method so I have seen my share of packaging methods, some good, some bad. I was quite impressed with the surprisingly dense package that arrived a few days ago, so much so that I decided to snap a few photos of the packaging.

Rule 1: Don’t let those trademark white boxes get smashed up!

Packaging

The Box!

Typically, this would be accomplished with a ton of bubble wrap, newspaper, or (the worst in my opinion) foam peanuts! Apple managed to protect the product box using some cleverly designed recycled cardboard box-end corner protectors. Sized perfectly to mate with the product box and the shipping box providing a snug fit while still providing some shock absorbing properties.

Apple’s Magic triangle wedges (does anyone know if there is a real name for these things?)

Okay, enough excitement out the protective shipping packaging… let’s get inside the box!

Inside the box

After removing the Laptop all accessories are revealed

I remember buying Dell, HP, Lenovo PCs, etc. and how much crap came in the box. Manuals, instructions in 20 languages, and stuff I would basically never even look at…

Who needs that extra junk!?? Well, it appears Apple has asked the same question and managed to shed the extra pounds — hooray! Neatly bundled in a single box are the bare essentials to get me going — nothing more. At over $1k for the MacBook Pro do I feel like extra goodies should be included? No, not at all. I appreciate that Apple’s design philosophy of simplicity, minimalism, and ease of use has successfully spread from the software to often overlooked physical dimension, including packaging.

Could apple have cut some corners and made the box even smaller or spent less money on the shiny 4Color Aqueous coated waxy feeling product box? Absolutely, sure they could, but this is all part of the experience! Who doesn’t enjoy unwrapping presents on their birthday or the holidays. Apple’s cool factor and perceived high-value did not happen by accident. Each and every touch points through the consumer journey is an opportunity to impress and build additional brand loyalty, so Apple, my word of advice is to keep it up, its working!

Time to get this beast setup

Join us next time for a look into the Software / OS side of Apple’s experience. Cheers!

--

--