Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Adventure 04: Football Mom

She was very proud of her son’s achievements in football and wanted to show Josh her appreciation.

Alexander Martin
Published in
18 min readMay 19, 2022

--

This story takes place after the following stories: GAME DAY, CLOSING THE STORE, and NIGHT FLIGHT. While it can be read separately, parts of it will make sense after reading the others.

A friend of mine talked me into attending the city’s football outing. It was exactly what I thought it would be: a bunch of talentless kids running around like crazy people and their parents thinking they had the next Hall of Fame player.

No wonder this place was free, the coaching sucked, and the organization of everything was terrible. The only good thing about it was the field. Even the equipment was outdated.

“Seriously?” I asked as my friend’s face lit up.

“What?” he asked.

“It’s a dumpster fire!” I exclaimed, looking over everything.

“They are always looking for volunteer coaches,” he shrugged.

The thought crossed my mind when the head guy asked. I couldn’t shoot my hand up fast enough. If anything, I wanted to take everything over and start anew.

When he took us aside and gave us the talk, I shut my mouth and waited until the end.

--

--