How to Troll on Reddit

Alex Lago
3 min readNov 12, 2019
Photo by Kon Karampelas on Unsplash

For those of you who aren’t familiar, Reddit is a wildly popular discussion website. Users choose to read and post about topics they like by following different “subreddits”, which cover just about every topic you can think of. From r/dogs to r/relationship advice, there is a topic for everyone. Many people use Reddit for advice, news, or to post their opinions.

I can’t speak for everyone, but it is a general feeling that there is an elitist and know-it-all attitude among redditors. My friends and I have recently created fake accounts to have fun after work and show the posts and reactions to each other as a joke. We create fake, elaborate posts and hilariously get people to react and get angry at us. While you make think this is immature, it is a fun pass time that is actually effective in relieving stress and getting a few laughs as long as you aren’t hurting anyone. After all, we are all children on the inside!

If you’re interested in passing the time at work, at the doctor’s office, or whenever you’ve got some extra time on your hands, i’ll outline exactly what you need to do to be successful and start trolling yourself.

The Rules of Reddit Trolling

  1. Create multiple accounts and contribute normal posts to them every few days. — I had luckily done this by accident. I created an account a year before I started and had posted…

--

--

Alex Lago

I am passionate about philosophy and literature. I use this platform to practice sharing my ideas.