Reinvent Home screen of Google Chrome

Alexander Ostapenko
2 min readOct 10, 2019

--

Do you feel that the start page of your browser is out of date? How much has it changed over the last 15 years to simplify surfing the Internet?

This problem really interested me.

I tried to find what alternative of homepage projects are available today that cover the needs of users. However, I could not find a suitable solution. All alternative solutions have a similar interface and usually low quality:

It led me to think what functions I would like to have on the start page and what I expect from it.

I inspired with idea to build start page looks more similar to the desktop of Chrome OS or iOS tablet, where bookmarks will looks more like applications in a smartphone rather than hyperlinks. Also it would be cool to always be able to make a quick note and have comprehensive search bar to find in bookmarks, history and Internet.

So I decided to create my vision of the start page. And I’m excited to share results of my work:

Chrome Web Store: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/homey-your-start-page-on/lllnjdmfnfjifcfpppjmcnanpokikcpl

To complement I added live wallpapers and updating them every day to create a good mood and atmosphere. After all, we all spend so much time in the browser.

What ideas do you have and what would you like to add or change on the start page of your browser?😃

Feel free to write comments, I’m interested to know your vision :)

--

--