Lessons Learned Since I Started Helping in Aerial Silk Classes

Alexandra Spark
5 min readNov 2, 2022

Here are the first lessons I learned from switching sides from student to teacher in Aerial Silk.

Floating hiplean pose on aerial silks in nature

Music

I want to create a complete space for learning. As I learn best with music I thought this was something I want to pay attention to in class. The idea is that I want to introduce the girls to my music. But even more than that, to create a space to feel the different emotions in songs and albums.

Most of the music I listen to is deep, dark, and often depressing. So, the lesson I learned here was that even when I come to class as a student, I don’t 100% listen to the music but I do gain energy from it.

If I take energy from it, then the other girls do too. While I still want to listen to 1 album or the same artist during the entire class, I’ll start with the pick-me-ups, the happy and cheery. Why? Simple, I don’t want to trigger anyone’s anxieties or bad experiences. They come to class to enjoy themselves just like me. Well, I come to get lost in the silks, but music plays a big part in that.

I will still have days when I’ll crave the darkness. I figured I’ll specify this at the beginning of the class. If someone feels uncomfortable I’ll change it or find less depressing songs from an artist.

--

--

Alexandra Spark

UX Writer & Content Designer for productivity software, Aerial Silk performer and teacher, mermaid, snowboarder, music and cartoons enthusiast