I Tried Working Out 45 Minutes Per Day

What I Learnt from This Failed January Challenge

Alexandra Pedro ☀️ (she/they)
5 min readFeb 12, 2020
Photograph by Alexandra Pedro

January was not even over and I had already failed to achieve what I had set out to do. In 2020 my partner and I decided to focus on monthly challenges rather than goals and one of January’s challenges was to complete 45 minutes of daily exercise. While we have not stuck with it, I still learnt a lot from this experience. I even think of adapting the challenge to be able to do it again in the future!

Why Monthly Challenges?

My partner and I sat down to create individual and joint goals eight times during 2019. We found that setting goals regularly instead of only once a year works best but we often failed to follow our huge lists of intentions.

In 2020 we decided to switch it up and opted for monthly challenges instead of goals. We are focusing on adopting practices that lead to the results we desire.

Each season will have a theme and each month will have two challenges related to that theme.

We chose food and exercise as the focus for the winter months of 2020 and for January we avoided processed side dishes and tried to complete 45 minutes of daily exercise.

Why 45 Minutes of Daily Exercise?

--

--

Alexandra Pedro ☀️ (she/they)

A creative at heart, dividing my time between writing fiction and marketing arts and culture projects. Otherwise, I am most likely cuddling with my dog!