How Phentermine Altered My Personality

Alex Salinas
3 min readMay 5, 2019

We’ve all been there, standing in the grocery store searching for the newest diet pill on the market. Browsing at bottles with pictures of plants and herbs we’ve never even heard of. Contemplating between the bottle with the fit woman in a bikini or the one that looks overly scientific with chemical structure printed right on the front.

I’ve definitely been there and done that. I’m pretty sure I’ve tried just about every mainstream diet pill, powder or shake. Of course, none of them actually worked in the long run.

After having my first child I became desperate. I gave exercise and healthy-eating a shot, but I just wasn’t getting the results I wanted fast enough. That all changed the moment I found out about the holy grail of effortless weight loss — Phentermine, which is chemically similar to amphetamine.

One phone call to a weight loss clinic swiftly got the ball rolling. A brief consultation with a doctor and one blood test was all it took.

That was it, I had finally obtained the answer to my prayers.

I had begun to get results within a week. Over three months I had effortlessly dropped 35 pounds, which put me in a healthy normal range for my height and age.

In the Beginning, Phentermine made me feel invincible. I had so much energy, I was so productive, and I didn’t have to worry about resisting unhealthy food, because Phentermine did all the work for me. However, after the first three months, I began to notice some issues.

I Became Irritable

I always felt annoyed. Someone could literally ask me how my day was and I’d think, “why the hell does it even matter to them? I wish they would shut up and stop asking me so many questions!” I mean the direction of the wind could find a way to get under my skin.

I Felt Weak

To be honest, I think a lot of it had to do with dehydration. Not only did Phentermine completely diminished my appetite but it also reduced my desire to drink any liquids. I felt like a zombie. I constantly saw those cute little stars you see in cartoons when someone gets knocked out. I always felt like I was one move away from passing out.

I Became Obsessed with Numbers

Even though I was at my ideal weight, I needed more. I so use to seeing rapid results and I didn’t want that to stop. I was clearly thinner but my goal had shifted from a body image goal to a number on the scale. I was no longer losing weight at a rapid speed, and I tied that to a sense of failure.

I Felt Depressed

Whether it was from a lack of nutrition or certain chemicals in the pill I just did not feel good. I felt isolated and pessimistic, which is the exact opposite of my normal self. There were days I would walk around with a horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach like something bad was going to happen.

There were just so many other side-effects I had began to feel. I had to really step back after a while and decide if these pills were really worth the cost.

In the end, I chose to take a break from Phentermine. They gave me amazing results in the beginning but I decided they were not a good fit for me long-term. Although, I do still recommend them to certain friends and family, I do so with extreme caution.

Phentermine is only as amazing as your willing to put up with.

--

--

Alex Salinas

Radio Host and Content Creator | VC Alumni | Professional Coffee Consumer