Redbubble isn’t worth it.

Alexandru Gîndea
4 min readAug 19, 2023

--

If you are among the people who are up to date with my POD business that I started you know what I am talking about. I started on publishing designs on Redbubble on July 1st and so far I learned one crucial thing about Redbubble which I will to share right now!

Disclaimer, this is my opinion and this does not mean I am going to stop now. The purpose of this post is to bring some things you should consider before starting this business! If you think different than me leave a comment so we could learn more together!

Redbubble isn’t worth it!

Why I am saying that?

Because creating designs that are actually selling is pretty hard, considering how things work.

On Redbubble the people making the most sales are the people that started before.

And it’s not like dropshipping, where you could find a winning product and make money with it pretty easy.

The thing is your designs will most probably be the next option after the ones from the early people on the platform.

Even though I didn’t spent much time on the platform, I found out how people that started later have a great disadvantage.

But should you still try Redbubble?

To be honest, I still think it’s possible to make money on Redbubble and I will explain how.

While documenting for that “one piece of advice that will change everything”, I stumbled across a video in which starting POD on Redbubble was something like this.

Because it’s a marketplace, people tend to buy from known artists who started early and have already made sells.

When it all began it looked something like this.

After years and years it started looking like this.

If you start now you are somewhere right here and If you continue to work hard and create quality work you will start going in that direction.

Unlike Instagram or Tik Tok, you have a small chance of going “viral”.

There isn’t enough creating content regularly, be it of good quality or not, in time you’ll still grow.

On Redbubble you need to work like the best from the start.

What is the point of this post…

If you want to start a business, a POD business, I think you should take a different approach than Redbubble.

Even though it takes care of the “marketing” for you, it isn’t that simple.

I first thought that I would create 10 designs and get views and likes and more engagement, and eventually a sale.

But now I have more that 20 designs and only 8 likes.

If you are willing to spend the time required to climb on top of the Redbubble creators you could go for it.

But in my opinion there are more better ways to start a POD business.

And yes it would be better If you had money to spend than not.

One way I think is much better is talking to youtubers or creators to help them with their merch.

I always keep seeing integrated Spring shops on YouTube selling all kinds of POD products.

Conclusion

Beware of Redbubble, I kept hearing it is easier for beginners, but this isn’t the truth anymore.

This is in fact the first reason I started print in demand on Redbubble.

You could still make money?

Yes.

I am not saying you can’t, but be careful about the people you learn from.

They may have outdated information!

That was all!

Before ending, I want to say that I will make a post in the near future about my progress on Redbubble!

Alex Gîndea
If you want to see more valuable blog posts, make sure to:
• 👏 Give the article 50 claps, so it would reach more people
• 🔔 Follow me on
Medium
• 🎃 Stay tunned because I post new articles!

--

--

Alexandru Gîndea

Alex here. Getting better everyday and trying to share as much as possible. Business, health, self-improvement are just some of the things you'll see here:)