sonic.exe

how a creepypasta brought my childhood back and ruined it in less than 5 minutes

Alexaria
4 min readAug 10, 2015

--

WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS, BLOOD, DEATH AND OTHER CREEPY STUFF. I’M NOT GOING TO SPOILER THE ENTIRE GAME, THOUGH.

I HAD TO USE SCREENSHOTS FROM AN OLDER VERSION SO EXPECT SOMETHING DIFFERENT IF YOU DOWNLOAD IT.

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

It’s been a week since I changed my username on Twitter because I became Sonic trash again. Yes, again. I’ve been obsessed with Sonic since I was born, but it kind of got out of my head when I joined other fandoms. It came back. But not how I was expecting it.

I’m not sure whether it was on one of my uncle’s games CDs or I downloaded it when I was around 13 (which is highly possible), but I knew I’ve heard of this before. I also knew it was creepy game… but I didn’t expect this to be that creepy!

The beginning was okay. You can only play as Tails. Not scary, huh? Let’s see.

Okay, now it’s getting creepy. Dead animals and flowers; and a Sonic.exe creeping in a palm tree. Just a normal day in Green Hill Zo-, wait, it’s only called “Hill”…

3 seconds later, the music stops. No dead bodies or plants. Nothing. Oh wait, there’s Sonic… no, Tails, don’t walk up to him. Stop! I can’t do anything!

Then the screen goes black; after a while it says:

“Hello. Do you want to play with me?”

I have no choice so let’s play Hide and Seek.

After walking for around 10 seconds, Sonic.exe appears and tries to catch Tails, who starts to cry after he caught him.

Huh? Sonic.exe appears again… and kills Tails!? WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT TO YOUR BEST FRIEND, SONIC?

“You’re too slow. Want to try again?”

So, Tails is dead; it’s Knuckles’ turn now. This time I’m walking left now. And jump off that shit because… why not…

“Don’t like playing by the rules, huh?”

Nope.

Okay, this secret level looks like I’m on LSD or something.

“You’re fun to play with, Jaden.”

Nice try, I never use my real name when I have to sign up for a Microsoft account (because Windows 8/10).

After that level, I’m back to You Cant Run.

And there comes the blood. All over the floor. And there’s Sonic.exe.

“fOUnD yOu”

I can’t escape. Sonic keeps teleport himself in front of me. Knuckles breaks down crying.

And he gets killed.

SONIC JUST KILLED TWO OF MY BABES.

“So many souls to play with, so little time. Wouldn’t you agree?”

Last level. Time for Dr. Robotnik to die.

After walking down the stairs, he also gets killed by Sonic.exe, but it’s not shown nor you can hear it.

Just statics.

But then…

JUMPSCARE.

“Ready for Round 2?”

There’s no escape. Literally.

But it’s not over, yet.

Something written in Japanese shows up. And that’s it. I even have to close the game by using Task Manager because Esc doesn’t work!

That was… scary. This just ruined my childhood.

But hey, this just reminded me how much Sonic The Hedgehog meant to me when I was younger. So after playing this, I decided to watch some Sonic Boom (I’m not a big Fan of Sonic X so). And guess who joined the Sonic fandom? Yes, me.

But wait, what is tHIS?

A sequel?! No, fuck off! I’m still not over Sonic.exe! WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT?!

Let’s keep it short, Amy gets tricked, Cream is way too fast, and Sally… well, she gets squashed.

Okay, I’m supposed to sleep now but thanks to Sonic.exe and Sally.exe for the nightmares I’m going to have until I die.

Want to try it out by yourself?

--

--