CS 371p Fall 2023: Alex Liu

Alex Liu
2 min readSep 17, 2023

--

  • What did you do this past week?

This past week, I spent a lot of time troubleshooting for a project I had in my autonomous driving class. I also did a couple interviews, which I think went pretty well overall. I also went out on Tuesday to celebrate my roommate’s 21st birthday.

  • What’s in your way?

Some of the homework and projects that I’ve been working on have been taking a lot longer to finish than I had expected. It can become a little difficult at times to finish all of my school work without losing focus on other things like recruiting and maintaining a good schedule in the gym.

  • What will you do next week?

Next week, I will hopefully get started on the voting project in this class and find less excuses to skip going to the gym after class. I also need to prepare for an interview that I have coming up on Wednesday.

  • What did you think of Paper #4: All I Really Need to Know about Pair Programming I Learned In Kindergarten?

I recall reading a similar paper about the benefits of pair programming before, so it was a little bit repetitive for me. However, it was a good refresher, especially since I haven’t done much pair programming since the last time I read something similar, which was a couple years ago. I’ve generally enjoyed doing pair programming in the past, and I’m happy that it’s encouraged in this class as well.

  • What was your experience of the Voting project, now that it’s starting? (This question will vary, week to week.)

I haven’t started coding on the voting project yet, but I’ve been thinking about optimizations that could be made in addition to the ones we talked about in class.

  • What made you happy this week?

The best part of this week for me was watching Red Bull go out in Q2 this weekend in the Singapore Grand Prix and proceeding to finally not win a race this season.

  • What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick-of-the-week is Coursera. Coursera can be a useful tool to learn new skills and subjects that you might not have the opportunity to take a class on at UT. I previously took a free course on game theory, and I thought it was a really well put together course. They have plenty of other free courses as well, especially related to computer science topics. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to learn something new, especially if you you’re like me and don’t particularly like dense reading.

--

--