How to make cold brewed coffee using a Chemex

Alex Fergus
3 min readJul 14, 2016

--

I like to home brew, and in the summer months, I enjoy cold brew coffee. But, like others, I have a hard time justifying the expense vs. a regular cup of Joe (I’ve seen it cost as much as $4 at local shops in Chicago while the average cup goes for around $2). I’ve been experimenting with different methods of making cold brew at home and thought I’d publish this recipe as I didn’t see any that use a Chemex coffeemaker. If you don’t have a Chemex that’s perfectly fine. Though I haven’t tested it, you can also use a normal mixing bowl and cheesecloth.

Step 1

Grind coffee beans to a course, even grind (similar to making French press). I used a Hario grinder but you can pre-grind your beans at the store. Just make sure you use a course grind.

The ratio of coffee grounds to water is subjective and depends on personal taste. In my case, I was using a 32 oz. Ball glass jar so I ground 1/2 cup beans for 3 cups of cold water (leaving some room for the grounds).

Step 2

Stir the grounds into the water. I’ve read that using a metal spoon affects the taste so I used the handle of a long wooden spoon. Make sure all the grounds are soaked.

Step 3

Cover and refrigerate cold brew for up to 12 hours. The longer the better. If you don’t have a Ball jar you can use a mixing bowl with plastic wrap to prevent evaporation.

Step 4

Strain cold brew coffee. I used a Chemex and Chemex bonded filters but I’ve read that you can also use cheesecloth placed over a large glass bowl. I like the simplicity of the Chemex as you can just discard the grounds and filter when done.

Note: you may need to give your coffee a stir as it strains as the Chemex filters are designed for finer grounds.

Step 5

Pour cold brew coffee and enjoy! Though lighter in color, it’s quite strong and very smooth by itself. I like to drink mine with a little bit of milk. If enjoying over ice, you can brew it stronger so it doesn’t get watered-down.

This is only one of many methods to make cold brew coffee. My short-term goals are to find out what factors drive up the cost of cold brew coffee and report back on some other techniques and ratios. It would also be interesting to understand the science of cold brew vs. traditional coffee, as I’ve noticed it is less acidic and lighter in color. Stay tuned!

--

--

Alex Fergus

Product, Strategy, UX • interested in startups, investing, and brewing a perfect cup of coffee.