Dear Lover,

Aleruchi Kinika
4 min readNov 2, 2021

What’s the beginning of every love letter? I love the way you talk? The way you smile? Or You make my world complete? I’ve never written a love letter before so it’s pretty hard to know how to start. But I’ll start from the very beginning. My heart.

I do love the way you smile and the way you laugh. I love the way you smile at the most random of things. It usually just comes after your straight face as you stare at a video, hoping you don’t get disappointed by the ending. Your smile always starts reluctantly by the corners of your lips and gradually spreads them into a line. Then it moves to your eyes and then back to your lips. This time showing a little more teeth. Then I know you’re truly smiling.

And then you look up to me and say “you should see this. It’s really funny” and I do. I don’t always get your sense of humor but that’s something else I love about you. You’re not pretentious. In a crowd of people, I can always point you out. I can always feel you close. Because in a world where no one knows who they are anymore, you’re always true to yourself. No matter what.

I also know how to point you out because you always have your headphones on, talking to yourself and hoping no one comes to talk to you. It’s always amusing to me because when I see you, I know. I just know.

I love the way you look at me the first and second time you take a glance at me. The first is always out of rush and anxiety from the sea of people you had to endure to come see me. Your eyes always screams “let me in. Save me” and then at the second glance, it’s more of “thank you.” As you wrap your arms around me.

You’re a lot tinier than I am but I always feel so safe in your arms. Your body lightly pressing against mine and I know that you feel safe. Happy. And the idea that I make you feel this way, warms my heart deeply.

I love your fingers and how you run them through my hair or my head after a fresh cut. How you stare at my face when you think I’m asleep. How you gently place your lips against mine. Trying hard not to wake me up but obviously aching to be touched. I know because I always have lipgloss on when I wake up. I just know.

I love how you melt in my arms when I kiss you lightly, gently as I caress your back and you wrap your arms around my waist. But most importantly, I love how I melt in your embrace when you kiss me back. Lightly and gently. Like you know I’m not going anywhere. I’m always going to be right there by your side.

I love the soft gasps and moans that escape your mouth when I touch you in all the right places, appropriately. The sharp breath and gasp from your mouth as you feel the wetness of my tongue, It’s like music to my ears as it fills the room and reminds me of how much I want to take those sounds higher. I love the feel me in your mouth. Wet, warm and wondrous. Never in a hurry, always taking your time as you make love to me individually.

I love how your eyes light up when you talk about the most abstract of things. With you, I’m always learning. The passion in your eyes is enough to light up a whole city. I don’t mean to be cliche but it is the flame that ignites the fire that lights up my soul. Even when my eyes meets yours from across a room, I feel at peace because I know you’re my person in this world and I am yours.

I love the fact I don’t complete you. No. Without me you’d still be the most amazing person I have ever come across. Dedicated to your work and your self and me. Achieving your goals and in all honesty you’re amazing every word there is.

I love you on your good days and your bad days. When you’re drunk at 2 am and you call me to tell me how tired you are of everything. When you call me up at 2pm to tell me how happy you are and how you couldn’t ask for better. Most of all, I love you because you let me in. You never shut me out and with you I don’t have to guess. I know. I just know.

I have never written a love letter before but I hope you can tell how much I love you. I hope you know. You just know.

--

--