Sketching in UX Design, a personal challenge.

The following article develops my first experience of sketchnoting, using the TED Talk by Margaret Gould Stewart, “How giant websites design for you”.

Alexis Gilardi
2 min readMay 16, 2018

It’s hard for me to believe I would be asked to draw again after high school. Back then, I found my drawing skills were not (and are still not) really up to standards, to the point where I could draw a camel that eventually looked like a rabbit… By doing this sketchnote exercise, I was definitely put out of my comfort zone. In the two following paragraphs, i discuss in further details the two sketchnote versions I’ve made in real time, watching this TED Talk.

Version 1

It’s interesting to see the level of immersion you need to be in to watch the talk and sketch at the same time. I had to stay away from trying to transcribe everything the speaker said, to only keep the most important ideas and concepts, and map them in a logical way. I also tried to use typography to highlight the keywords of the talk. In terms of structure, I kept a linear approach, whereby each of the three main points (details, data and change) are each on a separate line. I found this approach more adapted to the structure of the talk.

Version 2

On this second attempt, as i had watched the talk already once, I could focus more on the key points to include in my notes. I tried to highlight the logical links between the different elements. In terms of structure, the linear approach was still the most comfortable for me. I realised my notes were shorter than on the 1st version, but may be less clear for someone who hasn’t watched the talk. I was also wondering whether I included too many words compared to illustrations, as I didn’t feel comfortable with drawing.

Overall, I wouldn’t say the 2nd version is better than the first one, different elements have been picked up during the talk, and I tried to transcribe them as well as I could. I now understand how useful sketchnotes can be, to engage in a conversation, share with other people, and clarify concepts and ideas that couldn’t be well described with words. One thing (amongst many others!) I’ve definitely learnt from this exercise : the more you sketch, the better you get!

As I’m completely new to this sketchnote exercise, I would greatly appreciate your feedback/comments/tips that would help me improve my skills!

--

--

Alexis Gilardi

After working in advertising for international accounts such as Apple or Lancôme, I'm now a UX/UI design student in the Ironhack training program in Paris.