ONE: February 22nd 2010 at 6:11pm

Alexis
7 min readNov 6, 2019

--

Morning Routine

It was about 6.15am. That was when mum left for work. A doctor, working at Toronto General Hospital, she left for work around the same time every day. We lived in Bleecker and because wellesley buses were rarely on time, she would often make a 30min walk. In the cold Canadian winter, she would brave the cold day in day out.

Mummy and Me. 1995.

Right after she left, I’d get up and start our (my siblings and I’s) morning routine. Alex was about 6 and the baby was a year and a half. Our routine consisted of getting them bathed, dressed and fed. I’d pack Alex’s lunch and get the baby’s daycare bag packed. My sisters would help when they were in the mood but that wasn’t quite so often, they were still so young. Somewhere between 6.15am and 7.45am, my siblings and I would be ready for the day. Sam and Jay were in an elementary school not too far from the house, so they would walk themselves to school and drop Alex off on the way.

The baby and I were the last to leave the house. Of all the things he had, I was so grateful for his stroller. It made the trip to daycare so much easier. I’d dropped the baby off at daycare and then head to school often times arriving late. In highschool, among the many responsibilities I had, I also did morning announcements and birthday shoutouts. That was one of the many things I looked forward to during the day. I would also use that as an excuse for being late to class.

My mum will sign it

I went about my monday like any other. From homeroom, to english, to biology and so on. Nothing seemed particularly off that day. It was just a regular day for me. I do remember however I mentioned my mother’s name quite a bit.

We had an upcoming class trip and I forgot to get my permission slip signed by her. My Biology teacher told me I couldn’t attend the trip without a signed slip. I assured her that if she gave me one extra day, I would have my mother sign it and I would bring it back the next day which was Tuesday.

Mummy where are you? Please pick up the phone.

Random Picture I decided to add of Dad and Mum.

In addition to our morning routine, my mother and I formulated a full proof after school plan. If she got off early from work, she’d be pick the boys and my sisters would walk home. The walk home from their school was not all that far, so my sisters were fine to be alone.

At around 1.00pm, I paged her. She’d typically call me back in 20 minutes or so. She didn’t. I wasn’t phased. I sent her a text letting her know that I didn’t have any after school program, so I was able to pick the boys up. She didn’t reply. I also didn’t think too much about it. Doctors were very busy was how I excused not hearing back from her.

By the time school was finished, I hadn’t received a reply or call from her. Understand that not hearing from her was a norm. I didn’t think anything of it at all. If I was the one picking up the boys, I would go home after school, fix myself a snack, make my siblings their after-school snacks too. I’d take a quick nap and head out of the house again to pick up the baby from daycare around 4.30pm. We were ALL always back home by 5.30pm, 6.00pm at the latest.

Somewhere between my fatigue and itis, I overslept and woke up at 5.30pm. The house was empty. The house was dark. I looked outside and a snowstorm was well underway. The sun set’s quite early in the winter.

In rotation, I paged then phoned then paged her. Where is everyone? No response. No answer. I must have phoned her what I could remember as 36 times.

“Mummy how come you’re not home yet? Did you pick up the boys? Please call me back.” I said on her voicemail.

I phoned her again and then sent her a text message.

“Mummy, I’ve been trying to call you. Where are you? please pick up your phone.”

The baby’s daycare was closing in 30 minutes, so I hurriedly ran out of the house. Not only was it snowing, the temperatures had dropped. Only was I midway through my walk to the daycare, did I remember I forgot the baby’s stroller.

The Baby celebrating his 1st birthday. September 2009. Featuring my mum’s hand.

I got to the daycare around 5.45pm which was late for the baby. He was the only baby left at the daycare. When I got there, he was crying as he crawled towards me. I smiled at him. I picked him up apologized to the caretaker for being late. I dressed the baby up in his snowsuit, winter boots, hat, gloves and scarf. We were going to walk home, so he needed to be bundled up. Much to my relief, as I was leaving the centre, one of our youth program directors offered us a ride home. She was a familiar face and so I happily accepted her offer. While we drove home, she inquired about the state of my mine and mum’s relationship. I confided in her about the struggles we faced. I said to her that it was still rough but it would get better in time. It was a short drive home, so we arrived in no time. The coordinator dropped us off. I waved goodbye as she drove off in the snowy weather

The Baby giving me side eye for being late to pick him up.

Can it wait? I have to pick up my other brother and sister

Mummy and the Baby on the Balcony. 2009 November.

We lived on the top most floor. So while the baby and I were in the elevator, I started taking off his gloves, hat and so on. He was happy and smiling and playful which lifted my spirits in a way. Nothing had gone right that evening and so seeing him smile was nice. We exit the elevator and I put him down. He was walking by this time so we started walking slowly to the apartment. We lived at the end of the hallway so when we turned the corner, I saw two men in all black whom I later learned where police officers. As we got closer, a lady, mum’s boss emerged from the apartment. I don’t remember the conversation verbatim, but it went something like this.

Doctor: Oh Hi Alexis.

Baluka: Hi Doctor. How are you?

Doctor: I’m doing good. Is that the little baby?

Baluka: Yes it is. I was late picking him up at daycare so he is a little tired but once he has something to eat, he will be fine.

Doctor: Oh that’s okay little buddy, you’re okay. Let’s go inside and we can have a chat.

Baluka: A chat? Why? Are we being deported?

Doctor: Oh.. No…Why would you say that?

Baluka: Haha I’m just joking. It’s just something my mum jokes about. That if she didn’t do her job well, we would have to go back to Kenya.

The baby and I walked into the apartment. My sister Sam was sleeping on the couch, but she was not the only one in the room. Close to 11 strangers, people I had not seen before, had been spread out across our living room and the dining room. Later I found out that they were representatives from The Kenya High Commission and case workers from Child Protective Services.

Doctor: Can we go to your room and have a chat?

Baluka: I’m sorry Doctor can it wait? I have to pick up my other brother and sister. It’s 6.08pm and I’m already late, can it wait?

Doctor: It can’t wait. Let’s have the chat then we can go pick them up together.

Chance had it that the landline rings and it was the community centre where my siblings had after-school program. They asked if they can release Jay and Alex and I told them they should, since I wasn’t able to pick them up. I hang up the phone and looked at Doctor.

Baluka: My brother and sister are walking home shortly so we can have that chat now.

I started walking towards my room then the baby started crying. There were too many strangers in the living room and he was scared. I picked him up and we headed into a room. Mum’s boss followed me along with a fellow colleague and the two armed officers. I looked at the clock and it read 6.11pm.

Baluka: My sister and brother should be home in about 10 minutes. what did you want to talk to me about?

Doctor: Alexis I’m so sorry but unfortunately your mother passed away unexpectedly today.

I felt my heart break. I let out the saddest cry I have ever cried. My arms let go of the baby, someone caught him before he hit the ground. My legs gave way and I just fell. My world ended on February 22nd 2010 at 6.11pm.

--

--

Alexis

They had the freedom to paint any picture with any words to tell any stories. They didn't. I'll try.