Piston Type Specimen

Alexis-Rose Ellis
1 min readSep 29, 2021

--

For my final, I branched off into two different themes. I wanted to continue building on my draft specimen from last week but found myself stuck in some parts in After Effects. I’m completely new to the software so it was hard to figure out and create the animations that I wanted.

To break out I tried doing another Type Specimen revolving around a more fun theme. A poster based on the Great Gatsby. I was aiming for something similar to neon light signs when they are turned on.

Poster Type Specimen for Great Gatsby

For my original draft, I really wanted to keep to a similar monotone theme to empathize with the suspense and dark feel of my use of the font in this specimen. When I started to look at the words I thought it would be good for the introduction of a documentary.

--

--