Day 1 #Cannabis Journalism

Alexander Moller
2 min readAug 23, 2016

--

This class is dank. Just kidding, I know weed puns are frowned upon. Which leads me to the first issue that really struck me today: taking cannabis seriously and having it appeal to the modern person. Cannabis is no longer something that needs to be bought out of a van at a Grateful Dead concert, nor should it be considered a deadly substance. With legalization and the beginning of mainstream normalization, the methods of obtaining and ingesting cannabis have changed, but for most of the United States, the stigma has stayed the same. Why is this, when a large percentage of the current user base go completely against the stigma. I know successful lawyers, doctors, businessman, and people in tech (particularly engineers) who all use cannabis. Even the FBI has problems finding talented coders who don’t consume. If the user base has changed, why does the stereotype of the lazy hippie persist and prevent legalization worldwide? This is one question that interests me a lot and something I’m greatly considering writing on for my final paper topic. Another topic which seems quite curious to me is the current state of tech in the cannabis industry. Since this industry is so recent, I’m wondering what the current state of tech is and how purveyors of cannabis are using it to make their businesses more efficient and bring it into the modern world. I’m thinking of these topics because they closely pertain to my life. As a young male who works in the tech industry, I break the traditional mold of a cannabis user, and emerge as a clean cut, slightly red eyed adult, just like many of my peers.

--

--