Understanding Gen Z

Alex Lawal
3 min readJan 9, 2023

--

I’m a Gen Y pushing into my forties. In my twenties and early thirties, I didn’t think to look back. I just pushed forward. Now I look around and see that there are people younger than me pushing themselves forward as well. Every generation and everyone to some degree is self-centered, in a sensible way.

We don’t spend much time thinking about generations much younger or older than ourselves because we are so invested in the swirl of our lives that it is difficult to relate.

But in 2021 I started to notice the early 30s millennials. As someone who works with a lot of 30-somethings, I’ve developed a fairly good grasp of the generational mindset. For instance, they are more sensitive to critique and feedback than my generation, while also not being very confrontational. That can lead to a lot of frustration – they sometimes respond to suggestions by inaction. I’ve had to adjust by sometimes just letting go and giving them more ownership over their choices. I get the sense that they want to have more say in decisions, and in the long term that’s probably a faster way for them to learn from their successes and failures. But what about the next generation – how will I work with them?

In my free time, I consciously engage with Gen Zs ( My mentor calls it “hanging out with the crazies”), and here is what I discovered- Gen Zs are incredibly self-aware, self-directed, and self-secure.

Gen Z is the generation of leaders, often showing a preference for collaborative and inclusive leadership styles. They are often comfortable taking charge and leading their peers and have a strong sense of justice and fairness. They are also likely to be open to feedback and willing to learn from their mistakes.

They are highly empathetic and socially conscious. They are often motivated by the desire to make a difference in the world and to help others. They are likely to be open to hearing different perspectives and to be understanding and compassionate when it comes to working with others.

In comparison to Gen X & Y, they are increasingly aware of workplace abuse and harassment and are more willing to speak out against it. They are likely to be more vocal about their rights and to be open to hearing and understanding different perspectives.

This generation is perhaps the most diverse – there are more mixed-raced today than ever. They are exploring their gender and sexual identity at much earlier ages, and society has shifted over a decade to be more inclusive of differences. I do not want to tread into the waters and claim that bigotry and prejudice are dead, but from the Gen Zs I have met, they seemed quite confident and secure with themselves and with their place in society. Perhaps because this generation is quicker to define themselves, they spend more time pursuing their interests and passions. Most of the Gen Zs I have met had an “obsession” with some area of knowledge, competence, or skill.

This generation has resilience in spades. My conclusion will suggest that it comes from the mix of self-aware and oppressed parents who are determined to do better and raise independent-minded children who are taught to be curious and confident. In the last two years, some are already sitting at the desks next to mine, I can’t wait to welcome more.

--

--

Alex Lawal

Evolving Business Leader I Tech Enthusiast l Customer Marketing I Trade Marketing Expert