Photo-Real rendering on an iPad Pro with Octane X?!

Alex Pearce
4 min readDec 28, 2022

--

I know it sounds like it’s too good to be true, but it’s not! You can now get photo-realistic rendering on an iPad Pro with Octane Render Engine!

I don’t have my hands on an iPad Pro at the moment, but I’ll likely be buying one soon, and you can expect a video as soon as I do!

Sergio Avila shares his first impressions @somniumwave / YouTube.com/somniumwave

If you’re unfamiliar with Octane, it’s a render engine from a company called Otoy. In their own words:

“OctaneRender® is the world’s first and fastest unbiased, spectrally correct GPU render engine, delivering quality and speed unrivaled by any production renderer on the market.”

In simpler words, it’s a realistic render engine that is super fast.

UI designed for iPad, but you can access full UI

UI completely overhauled for Mobile (but you can access the full Standalone UI)

Octane X for the iPad supports all features of Octane X macOS standalone desktop application through a new interface designed for easy scene navigation and editing with support for Apple Pencil.

If you’re familiar with Octane Standalone like I am, you can enable the advanced UX with support for keyboards, trackpads, external monitors and more, and it really feels like you’re working on a desktop!

Demo Scenes and exporting projects

The app ships with many demo scenes

Octane X comes with several demo scenes, ready for you to experiment with.

With Otoy’s format ORBX, you can take the iPad project and set it to render on your PCs or Macs, and I’m sure you could render on Otoy’s cloud rendering service, RNDR.

I’ve used ORBX to go from Blender to Octane Standalone, and the other way around, it has some limitations, but in general is really great if you just want to take your project from one machine and bring it on another for rendering.

My main use case was to use my render farm and Octanes Network render to render out a scene and it was easier for me to do with Octane Standalone then with Octane for Blender.

Better rendering than UE5?!

Image rendered with Unreal Engine 5 (Lumen)

Yes!

Don’t get me wrong, Unreal Engine is amazing, and there are many things that it can do that Octane cannot do yet, but at the end of the day, Lumen uses a hybrid tracing pipeline, it is NOT spectrally correct.

Not only that but it lacks many AOVs or render layers that are very important for advanced compositing.

Comparing UE5 and Octane is a little like comparing Apples and Oranges, but when it comes to accurate rendering, Octane is the winner here. The fact you can use it on an iPad is just insane!

Note: Accurate rendering doesn’t necessarily mean BETTER rendering. Two artists could make the same scene, one in UE, one in Octane and either one of them could be better or more realistic than the other. I love rendering with Lumen and there are many pros of using UE5.

My history with Octane

AP Octane 2.0 // A Octane for Blender Addon I created

I’ve been using Octane on and off for several years and have used it professionally on project for clients such as United Airlines and VMware. I’ve also used it to create some pitch material because of it’s speed.

AP Octane is an addon for Octane for Blender that I developed to speed up my workflow.

Currently, I’m not using it in production, although I am considering it heavily for two projects we are currently working on (rendering in Blender’s Cycles at the moment).

However, I have been keeping very up-to-date with their news because I’m anxiously awaiting their Real-Time render Engine, Brigade.

Brigade will change everything, by the way!

Expect a post and videos whenever it is released. Brigade is basically the best of both worlds, it’s real-time AND path-traced.

--

--

Alex Pearce

Father, husband, creative technologist, virtual production expert, 360/VR filmmaker, professor, sailor, drummer, traveler and once upon a time a soldier.