Unknown

MY MEANING: PART I

Alex Sorto
4 min readApr 25, 2018

--

A brief story and poem like of what goes in my brain, almost every day.

I’m not who is used to be

I mean it’s true I have better understanding of life

But I’m letting myself down

Ya no doy lo que antes dí

No soy nada de lo que creí

I’m tired to be one who has shown

I’m letting my family down

They see me like an example

They see me like a star

But don’t they see that I don’t know where to start

I used to get good grades

From the start to the end straight A’s

Now I don’t even get B’s

Son how is school going?

My mom asks from time to time

Which I lie and say it’s going great

But only if she knew what’s really happening

I feel that I’m in a big seat

Which I can’t fulfill

This thing called life is only uphill

My uncles, aunts, cousins they look up to me

Me han perdonado todas las veces que les mentí

But somehow I can’t forgive myself

I don’t see me as a role model

It’s too much pressure

There is many things that I have and had to endure

I wish I was someone Nobel

There are days that I go without eating

Wasting my time looking at a computer

My life every day is shirking

I’m still mad at my father

I said that God hasn’t helped me

But that’s just me a being prick

I smile but there’s more of what you see

Since my great grandma died

I swore I would never cry

And when I remember her I can’t help it, I let my soul do the job

My soft feelings do a mob;

I have had dreams with her when she is still alive

And to be honest I don’t know how much time I will survive

I promised her that I would go back

And death made her attack

She passed away on April 1 of 2016

Since then I guess that’s why I have low self-esteem

I made a promise that couldn’t make true

And I know she made me to be strong, resilient and told me not to act like a fool

She used to wait for me to come home from the street

She used to lose her sleep

Until she knew that I got home safe

And she would tell me from her room

I know you didn’t have dinner in the microwave is your food

She wants me to be a good man

A respectable one

She taught me how to be independent

She always told me you are so intelligent

She prepared me for everything and anything

And I know she wanted me to be with my mom

But she didn’t prepared me to be without her

She used to sit at the door when it was raining and said look at it son it’s a big storm

Always telling be humble, but never let someone disrespect you

Be humble but never let your head down

Be humble, but if someone hits you, hit back

I miss making tortillas with her

I miss hugging her, I would fall sleep right at her side

Ella siempre me percinaba cuando iba a salir

Y me decía cuídate mucho hijo

Quédate callado cuando tu mami se enoje fue algunas cosas que me dijo

I feel that I’ve lost myself in this path

3 years ago I would be getting awards and certificates

Now I just get Emails and bills

I can’t figure out why, not even doing the math

Now if you look at me you will se that I Don’t care how you feel

Porta said it; the destiny that I didn’t want is the one that I got

I killed him, I put a bullet in his head

After I made him famous

But somehow people started to hate me more because of him

And even though I love to be arrogant

And show off what Ive worked for

People don’t like that they see it as bad

So I have to be like the rest

But guess what I am the fucking best

That is the mistake

I stopped being me to try to fit

Now I can’t figure out what to do

Now I am just one when I used to be two

But that’s okay…

--

--

Alex Sorto

I am a creator that means that I live a creative life. I am a photographer, filmmaker and writer for fun.