The struggle of getting my first job as a software developer

Alexandru Nastase
4 min readJul 10, 2022

--

A quick story about my journey

I want to kick off with the fact that this hiring process is A COMPLETE BULLSHIT.

I’ve been working for a bit more than 2 years as a software developer, and trust me when I say this, the struggle of getting your first job in this industry, is a pain in the ass.

Now, maybe, or for sure, I’ve been struggling a lot more than others because of various reasons. As a personal example, I wanted SO BAD to get employed so early, after just 1st year of university, and it was very hard to compete with other students that were finishing their studies or studying in final year, the pandemic kicked-in and companies were hesitant and kind of on hold, and I simply had many bad experiences.

THE STRUGGLE IS REAL

Ok so basically the hiring process can be a stupid joke. You spend WEEKS, getting that perfect personal CV, creating accounts on the companies websites (because why would they use your CV as it is, and not make you complete just another CV form, their own 🤡), filling out applications , writing cover letters, solving coding problems on leetcode or hackerrank, having HR and technical interviews, only to be told that you’re “not a good fit” or that the position has been filled. Even if you do manage to get an interview, it’s often with someone who has no idea what they’re looking for in a candidate. They ask you irrelevant or dumb questions and then tell you that you’re not what they’re looking for.

It is very frustrating.

But as I keep saying, the key is consistency. Keep pushing forward, apply to every job that you think you fit in, and don’t give up.

Even though you reach a point in which you are like “uhmm…yeah this is impossible”, you gotta take a step back, breathe, and click that “Submit application” button :).

COMPANIES, STOP SEARCHING FOR THAT “UNICORN”

Companies think they are building processes that ensure picking the right candidate. I don’t think that’s true. I think it’s due to fear of picking the wrong candidate. I think it’s fear they will not find the next unicorn. I think it’s fear of wasting time that ends up wasting more time.

It should not take nine interviews for any role.

I didn’t count how many jobs I applied for, at the beginning, but I easily hit 100. Many of them won’t even contact you back, and when they do, you might be surprised of how overkill their hiring process it.

I had this nightmare of endless interviews, companies where I had to take 4 different technical interviews, with 4 different guys, and in the end they ghosted me. Had WEEKS with almost daily interviews. Even days with multiple interviews.

it really do be like that…

I was sick of them, and I was getting tired. And there comes this interview, after a waterfall of previous struggle, that really marked me. Long story short, I was nailing it. I answered correctly EVERY. SINGLE. QUESTION. And then the interviewer went like: “you are really good, and if you answer this last question, you won me”. And he comes with this very odd and detailed question that I HAPPENED TO KNOW. And he’s blown away by the fact that I correctly answered him and then he tells me he “can’t wait to work with me”.

I was very, very happy. I was so excited. Then the next day I get an email from this company, starting with “We are sorry to inform you”…
I can’t even start to describe the disappointment I felt. At the end of the day…all this hiring process plays with your emotions in a way or another. It can be hurtful.

THE LIGHT AT THE END OF THE TUNNEL

Sooner or later, it’s gonna happen.

eventually

Once you somehow manage to get that offer (which btw you don’t have to be picky about, cuz your first job), you will simply feel relieved. It may sound cheesy but it feels like now you belong somewhere.

I still remember the interview that got me the job I wanted. IT LASTED FOR 2 HOURS AND 44 MINUTES 😅. Funny enough, at the end of the interview, the interviewer asked me if I had anything to say before he closes the call. You know, like thank you for interviewing me or stuff like that. But I was so fed up with the bullshit from previous interviews and I kind of lost it.

I straight-up started to talk about talk about how bullshit the hiring process is, in general, and complain about all the inconsistencies and how they should improve it. I was brutally honest. At that point I didn’t even care what was going to happen so I let it all out.

The next day I get a call from HR, letting me know that the interviewer liked me a lot and I got the offer. 😳

Lesson learned?

Great things take time. And they will come along when you least expect them too.😌

--

--

Alexandru Nastase

Java guy. Life newbie. Maybe smart maybe funny. Personal stuff here, too. WELCOME ! ❤