Avatar: The Last Airbender — Netflix Review

Alex Utopia
2 min readFeb 26, 2024

--

The original Nickelodeon show is one of my all-time favorite works of anime and storytelling.

Naturally, I was skeptical about the new live-action remake on Netflix. But after finishing the final episode of the season, I must say I like it.

Avatar: The Last Airbender is set in a fictional world where a small percentage of the population can bend the elements to their will and utilize them in combination with martial arts.

The animated show, intended for children and young adults, quickly gained an adult fanbase thanks to its smart and mature storytelling. It was an exceptional piece of art, from the awe-inspiring voice cast to the animators and artists who attended martial arts classes to capture the movements naturally.

A Surprising Remake

Avatar: The Last Airbender, Netflix, Aang
Avatar: The Last Airbender

There has already been an attempt to adapt the show for the big screen with M. Night Shyamalan’s ‘The Last Airbender,’ a movie so poorly received that it’s best left undiscussed.

In my mind, the Netflix show was doomed to fail; I thought it couldn’t be done. But clearly, I was wrong. Although there are some choices I don’t agree with, overall, the new Avatar: The Last Airbender can stand on its own.

The show captures the heart and soul of the original, and it’s clear that the people behind it have a deep understanding and respect for the source material.

I was particularly impressed by the storytelling; they made numerous changes but managed to preserve the essential story beats and character moments, even enhancing and adding certain aspects to the narrative.

Do I Recommend It?

I’m not sure how this will be received by those not familiar with the source material. However, for anyone who enjoys lighthearted fantasy, this show is a sure bet. I also believe it would be a hit with children. The show is rated TV-14, which I find appropriate due to moderate violence.

It’s not perfect, but it’s good — at least, that’s what I think. And given my love for the original, I should be the toughest critic.

--

--