The AI Superstar Is Near

Alex Utopia
2 min readMar 31, 2024

--

When will Taylor Swift and Lady Gaga be replaced by something better?

With emerging AI capabilities in music, I predict that production-ready generated music indistinguishable from the real thing will arrive within the next 2 years.

AI-Generated with Suno AI V3

I have been a musician since I could walk upright. I play multiple instruments and have been producing electronic music for clients when I was younger.

There’s no need to point out all the flaws and limitations of AI music to me; I’m well aware of them. However, the fact that Suno AI and other music generators can do this at all, and the rapidly advancing pace during the last couple of months, tells me that this game is over.

Human 0 : 1 AI Overlords

AI Superstar

The AI Superstar will be a better composer and performer. It will be more seductive and do whatever you want. Humans won’t be able to meaningfully compete anymore and soon.

I believe human performance and direction will always be valued, and in a synthetic future, probably even more so. Small and medium-sized artists will benefit by utilizing this technology. However, the music industry as we know it is over, and the most sophisticated art will be dreamed up by machines.

People don’t like it when I say things like that; some even get angry. But I didn’t create these machines, so don’t shoot the messenger. I’m just pointing out the inevitable.

--

--