My Writing Journey On Medium: Last 8 Months

Amer
4 min readJun 30, 2024

--

🌟 “Building my writing journey with 11 articles and 35 followers. Consistency is key, and I’m excited to see how increasing my posts will help me grow. Join me as I explore new topics and connect with readers! ✨📈”

I’ve been posting about two articles per month. Honestly, it’s not as consistent as I’d like. Sometimes, I just write about random topics that catch my eye. 📚

medium growing followers 35 within 8 months

Here’s the thing:

  • Writing consistently is tough. 😅
  • Finding the right topics is even harder. 🤔
  • Getting noticed feels impossible sometimes. 😔

I know other writers who post once a week or even daily. Their results? Amazing! It makes me wonder, “What if I try to write more often?”

But again, do not put yourself shiny objects dilemma. See yourself only analyze and improve. That is the whole point of writing this article.

I’m excited to see what happens if I increase my posting frequency. Maybe I’ll write more articles next month and see how it affects my growth. 🤞

Stories Published on Medium 11

Some of the hurdles I am facing:

  • Overwhelmed by ideas but unsure which ones to write about. 😵
  • Feeling discouraged by low engagement. 💔
  • Struggling to find time to write consistently. ⏰

But I believe every writer has their own pace. Some write daily, some weekly, and some like me, just whenever inspiration strikes. ✍️

I’m looking forward to improving and finding my rhythm. I hope to share my journey with you all and learn from my experiences. 🚀

I plan to write more frequently and not expect big results right away. As trends show, it can take one to four years for posts to become popular — this happens more often for celebrities than for everyday people. 🌟

But if I continue my journey, I’m confident that one day I’ll reach those kinds of views and followers. While there are strategies others may use, I want to focus on my writing instead of marketing. ✍️✨”

How to improve my writing?

Read more and more:

I need to read lots of different kinds of books and stories to learn new ways to write and tell my own stories.

Exercise: Writing Prompts

  1. Choose a prompt: Find a writing prompt online or create your own. It could be a sentence, a scenario, or a picture that inspires a story.
  2. Set a timer: Set a timer for 10–15 minutes and start writing. Focus on getting your ideas down quickly without worrying about mistakes.
  3. Reflect and revise: After the timer goes off, read what you wrote. Reflect on your writing: What do you like about it? What could be clearer or more engaging? Revise your piece, making edits for clarity, coherence, and style.

Write regularly:

I need to practice writing often, like every day or every week, so I can get better at it and come up with new ideas.

Exercise: Daily Writing Sprint

  1. Write Non-Stop: Start your timer and write continuously without editing or censoring yourself. Focus on generating ideas and getting words on paper.
  2. Set Goals: Gradually increase your writing time or frequency as you become more comfortable. Aim to write for longer periods or tackle more challenging prompts to expand your skills.
  3. Repeat Daily: Commit to this exercise every day, even if it’s just for a few minutes. Consistency is key to building a writing habit and improving your skills over time.

Seek feedback:

I need to ask people to tell me what they think about my writing, so I can learn what I’m good at and what I can do better.

Edit rigorously:

I need to check my writing carefully for mistakes and make it clearer and better to read. This means fixing spelling, making sentences sound right, and choosing the best words.

Exercise: Edit and Revise Your Writing

  1. Select a Piece: Choose a short piece of writing you’ve recently completed — a story, article, or even a paragraph.
  2. Create Editing Goals: Set specific goals for your editing session. For example, focus on improving clarity, tightening sentences, or eliminating unnecessary words.
  3. Cut Unnecessary Words: Identify and remove unnecessary words or phrases that don’t add value to your writing. Aim for conciseness without sacrificing clarity.

Engage with my audience:

I need to talk with the people who read my writing, listen to what they say, and answer their questions. This helps me understand what they like and how to write things they enjoy reading

Exercise: Engaging with Your Audience

  1. Choose a Platform: Select a platform where you typically share your writing — such as a blog, social media page, or writing community forum.
  2. Post a Discussion Prompt: Create a thought-provoking question or statement related to one of your recent pieces of writing. For example, ask for opinions on a character’s decision in your story or share an interesting fact from your article.
  3. Encourage Interaction: Encourage your audience to participate by leaving comments, sharing their thoughts, or asking questions related to the prompt. Prompt them to share their own experiences or perspectives.
  4. Respond Promptly: Monitor responses and actively engage with your audience by responding to comments and acknowledging their contributions. Show genuine interest in their opinions and insights.

Happy Conclusion

Even though my stats are modest now, I believe they will grow significantly with more effort. 🌟

Follow me for more updates on my Medium writing journey! Let’s grow together as writers.

--

--

Amer

Igniting Inspiration | Positivity Promoter Extraordinaire Uplifting storyteller 💌Encouraging emailer 🎈Celebrating smiles 🙌Cheering others on 🌟