Adaptability

Alfian Firlansyah
3 min readMar 19, 2022

--

Adaptability is a person’s ability to be flexible or adapt to changing factors, conditions, or environment. For example, the chameleon has the ability to adapt by changing the color of the skin according to the color around it. But is the chameleon a good and true adaptability??? Here we will discuss in more detail about adaptability.

In this post, I will write a story about the changes that I experienced and how I adapted in achieving these challenges in the form of a “way of interacting”, namely:

“Not good at public speaking and participates in many interactive activities using English”

I am not good at public speaking in English, while my recent activities are mostly interactive activities in full English. With these changes so I need to get used to my self-development for the better. As for my stages in dealing with these changes. Here are the steps:

1. Strengthen intentions

Source: https://static.republika.co.id/uploads/member/images/news/1jxwn06mrp.jpg

It should be remembered that before doing anything, it must be started with good intentions in the hope that the activity will be carried out. At the initial stage I straightened my intentions by strengthening the mindset that this was my learning process.

2. Dare to try

Source: https://purwandaru.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Mulai-Aja-Dulu.png

Like the Tokopedia jargon “Mulai Aja Dulu”, I have to be brave to try new things that can develop myself to be even better.

3. Practice public speaking in English

Source: https://ecs7.tokopedia.net/blog-tokopedia-com/uploads/2021/03/Freepik2-1.jpg

Basically humans have the ability to adapt. With solid interactive activities using English, so I can get used to public speaking in English by seeing and listening to these activities.

In addition, I have to learn to be independent by practicing speaking in public using English. For example, learn by looking for tips and tricks for public speaking using English on the internet. There are important points that must be considered in practicing public speaking, including the following:

  • Self-confident
  • Understand the topic of conversation
  • Recognizing the interlocutor
  • and stay focused

Conclusion

It can be concluded that the biggest challenge to the change was that I needed to adapt, be confident with a good mindset, overcome my fears, and keep practicing.

--

--