Code in Place 3 Experience — Week 1

Ali Akbar
2 min readMay 5, 2023

I was fortunate enough to be selected in 700 volunteers from around the globe in a prestigious program called as code in place. The main goal of the program is to help people from non Computer Science background to learn the art of basic programming and how to code !!

I know it sounds amazing and so was I.

After selection in the program we have to do some basic necessities to confirm our appearance.

Then, my first class was supposed to be April 27 at 2pm. I was confident yet a bit nervous since, I have to meet 15 different people from different parts of the world with different time zones, languages, culture and background.

Thanks to Amazing faculty at Stanford and Chris Specifically for organizing this program and even teaching us how to teach since for most of section leaders it was the first experience including me.

The sections are supposed to be 50 minutes long but our session went for almost 2 hours long.

Everyone was excited to learn, they were engaging and giving responses!!

Amazing!!

We started to use the Karal IDE developed by CIP(code in place).

In robotics, this is a term used as “World” so, what is it exactly?

Robots are programmed and trained and we tell them what is their scope of work and what they can see — in short, we define the domain of their work.

They only know what has been told to them. So, we were everything within that world is inbound to us and all other things are out of bound.

The Lesson plan was provided to us and even the goal of first week was to introduce basic concepts like :

  • How to define helper functions
  • While loops
  • If statements

We did it quite well and all the students were clear at the end of discussion.

I used the techniques like active learning and curiosity to make them comfortable.

This was the very first lecture of my life and I enjoyed it.

--

--

Ali Akbar

DevOps Engineer- 5+ years of Experience looking for Remote Opportunities. My twitter [@aliakbarETH] and Linkedin [https://www.linkedin.com/in/aliakbareth].