Why I’m choosing to launch my next novel with Publishizer

Alia Luria
7 min readJul 18, 2020
Ocularum’s Publishizer campaign launches August 1.

As an attorney, a novelist, and an entrepreneur, I know I’m equipped to go independent with my next novel. I released my first novel, Compendium, under my own imprint, and it sold over 13,000 copies, in ebook, paperback and audiobook. It won multiple independent book awards, received over 140 reviews on Amazon and was even picked up for two Bookbub campaigns that actually made me money, since they were paid campaigns.

This result wasn’t easy, cheap, or quick. I expended resources to find and pay a great editor. I hired and paid an excellent voice artist for my audiobook. I worked with my now ex-spouse to design the cover jacket art, a trailer video, and additional branded materials. I spent money on a blog tour, Bookbub ads, and other less successful marketing dollars. I applied to contests and ran a Goodreads Giveaway to help bolster reviews. All of this effort and energy paid off. The book did well! At one point, it hit number 2 in the Amazon Best Seller list for Science Fiction & Fantasy, behind only Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and number 1 in the Science Fiction category. That day, I hit number 1 overall in Amazon authors for Science Fiction, right above George R.R. Martin and 6 overall in Fantasy and 71 overall on popular Authors. All of this was accomplished without a distribution deal or traditional publisher. I’m not throwing these…

--

--

Alia Luria

Award-winning science fiction / fantasy author of Compendium (alialuria.com). Ocularum available for pre-order starting August 1 at https://pszr.co/LRtXM.