Eoin Morgan

EJAJUL ALI
2 min readFeb 14, 2023

--

Less than a year after quitting the international game, Eoin Morgan, England’s lone 50-over World Cup champion captain, announced his retirement from all short-format franchise cricket on Monday with immediate effect.

After a 16-year career — first with Ireland and subsequently with England — the 36-year-old Morgan withdrew from international cricket in July 2022. Despite this, he continued to compete in short-format competitions all over the world.

“I am announcing my retirement from all facets of cricket with the utmost pride. I’ve given it a lot of thought, but I think it’s time to stop playing the game that has given me so much over the years “According to Morgan’s statement.

Last year, Morgan led London Spirit to victory in the Hundred’s elimination round. He also played seven times for Paarl Royals in the recently finished SA20 and was a losing finalist with New York Strikers in the Abu Dhabi T10.

According to him, he loved every second of his cricketing career.

Morgan, who made his England debut in an ODI in 2006, said, “I have relished every experience, from going to England in 2005 to join Middlesex, right up to the very end, playing for Paarl Royals in SA20.

“I have been able to travel the world and meet amazing individuals because of cricket. Many of these folks have become lifetime friends of mine. I have a ton of experiences from playing for franchise teams around the world that I will cherish always.” Morgan batted in the middle of the order for the left-handed team and amassed 7,701 runs from 248 ODIs and 2,458 runs from 115 T20 Internationals. Between 2010 and 2012, he participated in only 16 Test matches while scoring 700 runs.

He declared that he will continue to be connected with the game by “commentating and serving as a pundit at franchise and international competitions, working alongside broadcasters.”

“I have been able to spend more time with my loved ones since I retired from playing international cricket, and I anticipate doing so even more in the future. But even with that, I know I’ll miss the excitement and difficulties of playing professional cricket.” Morgan participated in every game of England’s victory in the Caribbean T20 World Cup in 2010.

Originally published at https://ejajulali997.blogspot.com on February 14, 2023.

--

--