12 new features that will make things more practical in Xcode14!

alicanbatur
2 min readJun 23, 2022

--

Hello fellow iOS developers,

I prepared a recap for you about Xcode updates newly announced at #WWDC22.

I love practical improvements and this year there are several improvements for us which will speed up the development and quality so that I wrote this article in the practical improvements perspective.

Photo by Tianyi Ma on Unsplash

This content does not contain updates on Swift, SwiftUI and other stuff. If you are here to check them, I will kindly ask you to check these links of my friends below:

AppIcon 🎉

Then; As I an iOS developer, when I create a new application for the whole users, I still prefer to use https://makeappicon.com . Thanks to the team because it helped me a lot for the last 5 years. It’s logic is to upload an image of your logo with 1024x1024 size and it sends the all images for iOS and Android icons in to my e-mail. There are also another plugins on Figma to cover this needs.

Now; I am sorry to drop using this tool because Apple announced brand new support on Xcode. All you need to do is to add 1024x1024 file in Xcode and select Single Size under Devices at AppIcon. That’s all:)

Source Editor Updates

Pinning Code Structure in the source editor

Then; while I develop some new cool features or fixing a bug I was using scroll up and down to get where I was at.

Now; Apple added a new feature called Code Structure on the editor which shows you directly where you are as a scope. Great, right? Simple but sharp. Also you can enable it.

To toggle this behavior, use “Show: Code structure while scrolling” in Xcode’s Text Editing preferences.

To read more, you can visit original post on AppCircle!

--

--