Chaumont-Sur-Loire Castle

Alice TC
2 min readAug 18, 2023

--

Chaumont-Sur-Loire

Visiting château is quite exciting. There are over 40,000 castles in France. I am lucky to live in the region of Loire Valley where we have several castles.

Yesterday, I revisted magnificent Domaine de Chaumont-Sur-Loire. The visit to this palace was particularly interesting for me as I discovered the fascinating fact that apart from me there were other Indians who had visited this château. There were some distinguished Indian guests that were received in this royal palace. An impressive gift from the Indian Royal Family is on display in the guard room. Also an elephant called Miss Pundgil was gifted to Prince of Broglie from Maharaja of Kapurthala. Another influential India who stayed in this palace was Mararaja of Baroda accompanied by his wife and son. Having found traces of Indian connection, some how makes this palace special for me.

Now this palace is not just known for heritage but also for centre for arts and nauture. I admired the creative work of various artistes from all over the world exhibited all over the castle. The intriguing art work transports you to the enigmatic artistic world of painiting, contempory art and many other art forms.

This time I was able to visit the numerous gardens of this domain. Each garden depicted a unique theme in soulful and resplendent way. The ideas are given dreamy form pleasing to sight. The garden is a riot of colours with flowers, butterflies, dragon flies and frogs. You could spend hours time visiting the gardens.

So if you like discovering castles like me I would say Chaumont-Sur-Loir is worth a visit

--

--

Alice TC

I ❤️ reading, writings poetry, knitting and dreaming.