MadeinFuture Series: Finding the Perfect ICO

Alice Hlidkova
4 min readFeb 3, 2018

I. Navigating ICOs.

When I first heard about the term “ICOs,” I thought the gentleman told me “IPO.”

I was at a Chicago-based meetup in December, and naturally when I don’t understand an acromyn, I take out my phone and look it up.

One of the distinctions with traditional funding (IPO) is that tokens can be bought not only with the help of Euro or USD but with the help of cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin and Ethereum.

Besides, an ICO campaign has set goals that indicate the amount of money the company should collect and for what timeframe. Think about ICOs resembling crowdfunding campaigns on Kickstarter or Indiegogo.

Back in December, ICOs raised $4 Billion in funding, more than traditional ways for raising capital. This year the number is set to grow between $10–30 Billion in the first quarter, with undisclosed estimates as high as $40 Billion.

These numbers are crazy and thanks to the internet, digital gold or internet money is here to stay.

To learn about ICOs, which ones are bad or good, is like trying to navigate the high seas in a sail boat. The wind pulls you in a different direction like the loads of available information with the waves crashing down on your deck, I’d like to think is my head.

--

--

Alice Hlidkova

Author and entrepreneur who is exploring the nexus of culture, tech, and society.