My French Adventure & How to Pack a Backpack for 2 Months of Travel

Alicia Carney
4 min readSep 8, 2015

--

It’s been an interesting experience letting people know that I’m dipping out for two months. Most people get this bug-eyed look of shock that’s quickly tailed by an under-the-breath “Oh my god, I hate you…” Well, that sucks, but luckily I’m confident that at least 85% of those exclamations of hate were joking (meaning 15% were real, which is the exact ratio I want making up the company I keep). This was surely a big decision, but not as big as you might think. In fact, it’s very much achievable. I’d like to share how I’m making this happen, including costs along the way, my intended route, type of accommodation, and what I’m bringing.

Frenchploration: My Route & Housing

The trip begins in my 2nd favorite city, Paris. I’ll stay in a charming Airbnb studio in Montmartre for $34/night. After that, I take the train to Montpellier, where I’m participating in a WWOOF program at an organic winery for two weeks. I’ll learn how to run a winery and experience everything from laborious harvest work to the scientific cellar work involved in production & distribution. The cost of this experience? Nothing. It’s free room & board in exchange for your contribution to their organization.

When that ends in early October, I’ll spend a couple days Couchsurfing through the French Riviera — namely Marseille, Cassis, Aix-En-Provence, and Nice. Couchsurfing is also free save for courtesy ‘thank you’ gifts for your hosts. After a quick train ride, I’ll find myself in Lyon. I am particularly excited about Lyon. I’ll be there for about 6 days before returning to Paris for a week, again Couchsurfing. I will be making a 5-day trip to Berlin to visit friends, and return again to Paris to fly home on Thursday November 5.

How to Pack One Backpack for 2 Months

The most popular question I’ve received so far is how the hell I’m fitting my life into one Deuter backpack. This answer should be obvious to any self-respecting Millennial: You Don’t Need Much.

I always start by making a list. After I pull those items from my closet, I wash everything. Then I roll everything up and shove it in my pack. Done, right? NO. Then I take everything out, and pare it down. Take stuff out. Pack the bag. Do it again, empty that sucker. Take a few more things out.

Also, roll everything. Do not fold. Roll your pants, shirts, dresses, etc. into little clothing burritos and then stack, stack, stack. It’s also best to group things together for easier access and pack navigation later on.

What’s in my backpack

Bottoms: 1 pair denim, 2 pair yoga pants, 2 pair leggings, 1 pair lounge pants, cotton black mini-skirt.

Tops: 2 satin tanks, 1 black tank top, 1 fancy B&W blouse, two light tops to layer, 2 workout shirts.

Dresses: 2 black dresses, 2 white dresses, yellow polka dot dress.

Layers: Leather jacket, hoodie, 2 oversized cardigans.

Underneaths: 10 pairs of underwear (yes Kyle, 10 pairs), 5 pairs socks, 3 pairs black tights, 1 strapless bra, 1 comfy bra, 2 black sports bras.

Shoes: Nike Frees, black sandals, black flats, black booties, hiking boots.

Miscellaneous: Toiletry bag, outlet converters, Giants cap.

Satchel/Purse/Carry On Thing

Makeup bag, meds, face washies, Laptop/iPhone/Mophie + chargers, 3 Books

And that’s about it! In fact, this still might be overkill. But I like having options and it’s still only about a 40 lbs. pack so for me, this is worth it.

--

--

Alicia Carney

Product Marketing Manager, Growth @Deliveroo. Lightweight travel writer, immigrant, optimist. aliciacarney.com